Illuminated yesterday

In dreams the songs play
Transistor radio
Of a child
Hearing a favorite song
Feeling the simple joy
The happiness given birth
By the new
The different.
Lights in the darkness
Battery runs to give sound
To the silence
Drowning out the storm
The winds that howl
Diminished
Covered.
A candle flickers
Illuminating the smiles
Of a child
Rocking to the music
Dancing to the tune
Music of the heart fills the space
Between waking and dreaming
Carrying me back to yesterday
To wake with the words
From yesterday alive
On the top of my tongue,
A song in my mind
To light my day.

4 thoughts on “Illuminated yesterday

  1. My head is always buzzing with songs and words….and I always wake up with a song in my head carried from dreams….a busy place it is☺️

    Like

Your words are stars and I humbly thank you for shining your light for me....

