Journey

Dark skies greet
The tired mind awakes
Silhouette of buffalo
Reflected by the red tail lights
Moving forward to the field
Skies alive with white haze plumes
Time to move
Like cattle through the chute
Forward to the opening
Heading to the sun.
Land of colors waiting
Friends I’ve yet to meet
They wait there on the sand
Joyous sounds to hear,
Another world
Another place
Solitary figure emerges
Time to move
One step
Two step
The breeze keeps calling
Keeping the beat of the heart
In rhythm of the moment
Heading to that place
The island of bliss
Yet finding I leave a piece behind
Missing you
See you soon
The time is now
To fly.

Thoughts as I wait to board my plane to Key West, missing my love already yet excited for the adventures that await.

12 thoughts on “Journey

  1. Contradictory attractions; I am reminded how life can seem like a series of constant trade-offs, this for that, never both. A lovely piece, all the better for having been written on-the-run IZ.

    Liked by 1 person

Your words are stars and I humbly thank you for shining your light for me....

