A silence of memory

Eyes that gaze outward
silence of a memory obscured
beyond the broken glass pane of yesterday
was a moment once remembered
now lost among the busyness
of a day gone mad.
Earth changes black and white
capturing colors in prisms
yet hidden by fog
where is the sun the child asks
and I no longer know.
The evil fills the emptiness
life lost in desperation
and I still peer out into the dark
knowing that there is another way,
another place within the mind
where seasons cycle through
and goodness reigns
to open the window and breathe
the air of coolness
it hangs and falls silently
as if never there at all
and in the moisture words are drawn
I am here
I am aware.
Where is that memory
tucked away for a rainy day
needed occasionally to fulfill
the smile that fell
needlessly in the moment
of chaos.

6 thoughts on “A silence of memory

  1. This resonated with me. “to open the window and breathe…” This is what I feel when I am looking for that memory that brings back the smile while closing the veil on those memories better left in the dark. Very well done. I enjoyed reading the poem very much.

    Liked by 1 person

Your words are stars and I humbly thank you for shining your light for me....

