Just try

Winds whispered to souls
that dared ask the questions,
answers known within
somehow lost over time,
swept away by ingrained fear
self unswayed by reason
of what was known,
or thought known but so very wrong.
Learned to stand
to never try to rise like birds,
like bees that flit like fairies
from nectar base to petals,
oh how we envied their mirth.
We tell ourselves these things,
that we were not meant to be that
we were not meant to do that
and we remained small,
diminished.
Listen to the voices of skies
that blow gently over our souls,
that cool the warmth
that lift us
that move us from side to side,
as the voice you hear
comes from within,
it’s just been so long since
we’ve heard the song,
to raise us up
where we truly belong.
The sweet joy of remembering
the innocence of dreams as children
how we thought we could do it,
and how it fills our very core to know
that we still can.

11 thoughts on “Just try

  1. Thank you, I like how this one came out. I did the pic while at work and then words kept coming. Had to do write a poem. Glad I did and glad you enjoyed โ˜บ๏ธ flying ๐Ÿ

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Feeling like I finally remembered that I CAN fly. My heart is so light today and I think we can all use a reminder every now and then. Fly with my friend, I’ll be waiting๐Ÿ˜Š๐ŸŽˆ

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Your poetry wraps over your readers like a fine symphony. The beauty of your work is much like wave after wave of pleasure appealing to the part of us deep within where the appreciation of beauty most takes hold of us!

    Liked by 3 people

Your words are stars and I humbly thank you for shining your light for me....

