Simple bounty

Sun rises sleepily
The trees dusted in mist,
Glistening grass leaves shoes damp
Plucking the sweetness
This bounty of life.
Birds fill the ears
Cacophony of sound drowning out
The breeze that blows
Dancing berries
Touching tongue
Leaving a smile
In their wake.
The hounds nestle in
Watching the small striped snake
The brown and white string coiled back
Awaiting attack
And saved to slip away
Sliding along the crack in the sidewalk
Off to another place
Free.
This moment captured in my mind
This place of home,
And tomorrow soon new horizons await
Where an ocean calls to sun
We will leave behind
The wild fruit
For others to find
And may they be happily surprised
And feel the same
As I do this moment
This perfect day.

Being petrified of snakes I am learning to overcome my fears of encountering them and letting them do their thing…just don’t eat all my berries you little slithery things.

10 thoughts on “Simple bounty

  1. The snakes here are harmless, when I move to Florida they have the killer variety….maybe you should,write a tale about venomous snakes😊 they already scare me to death😊🐍 thanks my friend and have a great word filled day😊 Kim

    Like

  2. Thanks so much. I love a morning spent snacking in the lawn😊 more than usual this year but must be because of the endless rain these days🍓yummy stuff 😊 so glad you enjoyed.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Me too…yet I yearn to live by the might ocean, feeling the breezes and the glorious sunsets,,,I guess that will be simple too in its own way😊 thank you. Peace and blessings and all good simple things😊 Kim

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I love these little wild strawberries, tiny sweetness and warm in the morning sun…except when the hounds steal them all on me…and they love to lay on my mint patch and roll all over the leaves….I,suppose it smells better than dirty muddy dog but does not fare well for my mojitos…sigh😊 thanks so much. I will miss this when we move.

    Like

Your words are stars and I humbly thank you for shining your light for me....

