Matters of the path

To move about following signs
Skipping off the path
When we find the time,
Exploring without and within
Jump right back into place
And begin again.
Does it matter which way we move
Where no answer is wrong
And the soul will always approve
To keep forging on and follow the wind
On the road of life
We dare to dream
Of places unseen
Of friends yet to meet
And somewhere in between we find
Maybe the compass shifted us off course
So we right ourselves with a gentle smile
Nothing gained and nothing lost,
But we wake each day
With the highest hope
To climb that hill,
To hang tight to the rope.
But if we let go into the unknown
Now that is the wildness of soul
Set free to be the greatest thing
To find the place to be whole
To find peace and bliss,
Throw away the compass now
And Mark your own maps of life
Because where you are
Is where you’re meant to be
To learn
To grow
To be ready
To fly.

17 thoughts on “Matters of the path

  1. It is warm and balmy and as I spend my first trip ever with my mom, I realize how fleeting it all is, how life moves us along on this course and sometimes we need to just stop and wrap our arms around those we love and just be whole in each moment. Slept good and it will rain today but I don’t mind, I’m making memories💜😊

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m right there with you on the need to let go of the rope… let the hill be the hill… turn the rope into a tire swing and push off into the unknown… Hope you’re enjoying some stellar Floridian days!

    Michael

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ooooh, now that’s even better. Made it to Florida…my it’s quite warm once it rains and the sun comes out a bit….can’t wait to move here permanently😊 thanks my friend, K

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I am so happy I could oblige. Traveling today and just got to sunny /rainy Florida for a quick vacation…ah, the warm air does a soul good….taking time to enjoy…peace and blessings, Kim

    Liked by 1 person

  5. You are always most welcome…not sure if you got my last reply, it usually says when it was sent…will wait a bit…not sure of reception but all good, warm and balmy☀️🌴😊

    Like

  6. I grew up in the 70’s and I think it was a movie star Jacqueline Bissett…I wanted to be her…but alas, I’m me and that’s a good thing too😊 I still love the name though💜

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Excellent poem and something that is a great reminder not to get so caught up in life and feeling like you could be “off timing” when in reality we could never be. thanks for a feeling of freedom when I needed it. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Your words are stars and I humbly thank you for shining your light for me....

