Observing it all

Swimming on the ceiling
Just a bit off
I watch as it moves like strokes in water
Gliding here and there
Against eggshell white
Standing out in his black finery
Seven legs left
Keeps on moving
To his unknown destination.
(Letting a spider live….priceless…just stay out of the bed please)

I am richer for the moment
Rushing through the dark fields on my way
To start this, another day
And intruding upon a conversation
Feeling awkward I slowly drive on by
Two bucks watching me as if to say
Uninvited…now go away.
They turn back to resume
And off I zoom.
(Two very large apparent deer friends with each a nice rack, chatting roadside about the price of coffee perhaps?)

Forlorn perhaps she waits in the road
Searching for the kindness of a soul
Her world turned upside down
This cosmic traveller in dire places
He gathers her gently
Calling her by name
And viewing her head sees the roadmap
To the stars
Connect the dots and connection
He carries her to the edge
And she takes her time
Moving on.
(A beautiful turtle saved from the road by my Dad…pics to follow below-where is she now I wonder aloud, I pray not soup will be the taste of today)just kidding.

Messengers of beauty
Long days spent in a quiet simmer
Stewpot of thoughts that swirl like carrots in the pot
Breaking up to become part of the whole,
Wood collected from silent forests
And the hound lingers close
Protection of the maiden
Or a push to finish, to begin
The time of play.
I pull up the drive
The end of the day
Where the feathers found waiting
Like a deck of tarot
Beautifully spread
I find myself in awe
At the magnificent instead
And hold them up for the light to see
This amazing bit of nature
For me.
(Came home to eight bags of charcoal for the grill master and a bounty of feathers, connected together and wow…..amazing)
image

image

image

image
To finish…the turtle lived…I think, and the turkey I am told decided to get a haircut and is thriving someplace out west…the feathers just too much for the heat….

12 thoughts on “Observing it all

  1. We haven’t bbq’d with it yet…mr turkey went on a few years back I’m told to the homeless shelter for dinner at thanksgiving. My dad hunts but only does so to give meat to the elderly who ask for it or the shelter…..I am blessed with the gift of what remains😊 blessings my friend, Kim

    Like

  2. I adore the feathers….he hunts to feed those in need…so I feel better knowing it wasn’t for sport. A change up from my usual fare….did a normal poem on the other blog…need to catch up with yours this weekend…under the weather a bit and exhausted….need a good ten hrs sleep and I shall be right as rain💧💦☔️💜k

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Turtle soup sounds disgusting! I LOVE chipmunks, if I could I would totally keep them as pets! I saw two squirrels this morning and took pictures! Hope you have a great weekend and I’m looking forward to hearing about what you think about the link I sent you!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Yes, they make soup out of turtles….never tried it and have no desire to….was having fun this am doing something different…not my usual style but sometimes it’s fun to change things up a bit…I’ve been seeing an abundance of squirrel and chipmunk lately…Mr hawk and Mr owl must be slacking😊going to look at that book thing this weekend…been crazy busy at work but looking forward to it😊 have a great weekend😀

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Another great poem. I liked the way you rhymed (by the way you said that you couldn’t, but you obviously proved yourself wrong!) I’ve never actually heard of Turtle soup, am I missing something?? Anyway, the turtle is cute! Saw two squirrels running around on my lawn today! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Your words are stars and I humbly thank you for shining your light for me....

