From the beginning

Lets start here
right here at the very beginning
but where exactly would that be?
I often wonder such simple things
yet I see so much more below the answer
and I can turn it this way and that
like a crystal in the window on a sunny day,
how it throws rainbows every which way
amazing color for such a small piece of cut glass
and if there were only two sides
of this here tiny piece of glass
they would only serve to see through,
not to cast lovely colors on ceilings or walls.
Or glass magnified perhaps
to fry a small ant,
but I would never do that.

There was this red spider walking slowly,
except when I came near it skittered away like
an exuberant puppy
and I walked by twice and he still made his way
so I scooped him up on hot pink paper,
quite the un-spider like color
he being red clashing with the neon pink,
but I walked to the door with my new friend
as he scrambled and tried to balance himself,
the paper waving slightly,
perhaps a bit too much
but as he nearly made it to my fingers
I opened the door and set him down outside
and this is where his new journey would start
instead of below my shoe,
he had his second chance
although I hope he made it through the rain
on his way.

But I begin here, at the moment I write,
because it is a beginning for me
with this shiny new page to chart my course,
to move here and there to the tune that plays
somewhere in my memory box of a mind,
and when I am done this page too will turn,
but in this case it is a tablet that glows
but until that glow ceases and the next moment begins,
I will sit and think about beginnings.
I don’t like to think of ends at all,
because we move like circles
no beginning and no end, right?
Just endlessly moving throughout space,
living our lives with strange and normal encounters,
like spiders that crawl across the floor
or the day and what it will bring forth.

Each breath I inhale
and for each breath I exhale
a beginning and end
and so it is for everything,
books that set our souls on fire,
seasons we love that move too quickly by
and words that when released
drift off aimlessly on the wind
carried off to who knows where
but perhaps to be caught,
planted like a seed that had been held
so lovingly in its place
until it found its moment to fall
into the atmosphere
from the end to begin again.

16 thoughts on “From the beginning

  1. Yes, me too! 🙂 and spideys, too! You express from a place that looks and feels like my landscape as well. A return to wholeness now again, this mercury retrograde was something else. All these Virgo elements now to get clarity. Nodes are moving into Virgo/Pisces. North node in Virgo. Nice to connect 🙂 Peace and love to you, too.

    Like

  2. Thanks my friend, going in all sorts of zany directions these days….must have been mercury in retrograde….feeling more balanced and calm. So glad you enjoyed it, thank you. Peace and blessings, Kim

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks Kat, feeling in a flowing mood lately, something different and quite a pretty spider…a bit menacing but deserving of a saving, but alas, the rain hopefully didn’t wash him away.😊

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thanks for the big smile. 😄 (I imagined a spider in pink – I bet it was offended 😉 )
    But it’s really amazing metaphysical poem, my dear friend. Love it. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  5. The spider spirit resides in you, glad to see you made it through the rain and to new heights😊 my mind was on a journey and it started and moved, like a child’s water slide, moving back and round curves, it knew it would find the pool at the end but it was such fun along the way, sliding on a hot pink mat perhaps? Peace and blessings dear one, K

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Beautiful Kim… I lost myself in the circles here– not beginning or ending, just surfing across the hot pink paper towards the sky… These words stuck inside of me, and are putting down roots…

    Michael

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Breathing spidery drifting words?
    🙂
    (The Word, or Verb, depends on the translation, was at the beginning, according to one version. I like the Veda’s version: “At the beginning there was Desire” (Before the Word) 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Your words are stars and I humbly thank you for shining your light for me....

