Into bliss

The path led down to the blue
Aqua and sky meeting at a point unseen
And sitting down upon the sand
Just waiting it seems for nothing,
Just being in the moment that arrived to find me
On this deserted Sandy knoll
Breathing in air
And sea.
I don’t know why I came
I think someone turned on the invisible fan and it blew me here,
And I am ok with that
Because with no agenda I could just follow along
To where my feet decided to carry me.
Yet feet don’t really know,
They just kind of shuffle along
Where the mind tells them to go,
Like faithful dogs that heel
Just moving along happy for the jaunt,
Ready to explore whatever will come.

So I sat there
Among a million grains of sand
Picking up stones and broken shells,
Feeling the edges as they ran through my fingers
And watching the clouds move aimlessly,
Because clouds always kind of move aimlessly,
But these ones were different,
Some moving this way and some that way,
As if they couldn’t quite decide where they needed to be
But they gathered anyway
Because it must have been a party,
Waiting for the guest to arrive,
The revered guest,
Perhaps it was his birthday,
His entrance to that particular party for the first time.
I’m sure he was tired,
After having been at so many other affairs that day,
Pleasing the people who had gathered to watch,
To ooh and aah as he rose
Taking a bow and settling himself amongst the guests,
His friends the clouds.
What a grand party it was,
He was so large
With this glow unlike I’d ever seen before,
Here I sat,
A lowly party crashes just watching the spectacle

I’m not sure if they would have noticed anyway,
But I grew weary and it was time to go,
Early days awaited and I excused myself,
Shaking a bit of sand off of my cuffs,
In jeans and tee feeling slightly underdressed
I turned and walked away.
They followed me,
The shadow guards guiding my way
Back down the path until I turned into the darkness,
Out of view they lost me
And I arrived to another place and glancing back
He stood high in the sky,
The clouds having gone home,
The stars stood in their place,
Like the setting for the diamond
Glistening on black velvet,
And I could have sworn he winked then,
As if we shared some cosmic secret,
I think he was glad that I had come.

6 thoughts on “Into bliss

  1. Thanks so much, glad to see you too and I am so happy you stopped by. It’s always nice to see a familiar face, hope you are doing well, been so cranking busy myself….but with summer over, life is taking on a slower easier pace…thank God….peace and blessings my friend, Kim

    Like

  2. I think he or she fits very well – I tend to think of the guest of honour as being unisex, depending almost on us for identity through what we want to communicate. This is beautiful. The photo, the words, the thoughts behind the wander. Very peaceful and visceral in appeal. I envied your ‘invitation’ to this particular party. It sounds like one I would enjoy very much. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks my friend, perhaps I should change him to her, you think? Glad you enjoyed my seaside foray into the clouds…but there is where my mind resides a lot…..drawing me into their party😊💦💧☔️ no rain allowed….smiles and love, K

    Liked by 2 people

  4. The clouds just want us to think that they move aimlessly, but, in fact, they have very detailed cunning plan (usually to soak us when we least expect it 😉 🙂 ) Just kidding of course. I Love the sand, and the sea, and a stones and broken shells, and stars, of course, but most of all, her majesty the queen Luna. … I love everything about this poem. Bless you, dear Kim. ❤

    Liked by 2 people

Your words are stars and I humbly thank you for shining your light for me....

