Friends of fall-A collaboration

With the joy of the season of Fall currently in full swing, my friend B and I came to the conclusion that it would be a great time to jump together into the leaf piles of fall pages and collaborate on another poem.

Both B and I have a fondness for the furry creatures and spend time chatting about fun stories on the way the little scampering creatures torture us…not on purpose mind you, they just move a bit too fast for our tastes but oh, what a pleasure they are to watch. Stop on over to B’s blog  gettingthroughanxiety.wordpress.com and say Hi.

We hope you enjoy our foray into the wild side of Fall. Don’t forget to leave out some nuts and seeds too…the snow is already making an appearance as you can see. Thank you B for joining forces with me for our nature “walk” and now let’s go jump in some more leaves before the snow covers them all, shall we?

image

Sitting on the side steps

Taking in the fresh air

I feel a sense of pleasantness

That sometimes seems quite rare.

All of a sudden I see

A flash of brown coming my way

But you rush off in a panic

Before I can ask you to stay.

These sights of Autumn fill me

With peace and joy abound

As time moves on I see

The colors around me falling down.

The creatures move much closer

Gathering their sustenance to live

Yet I am truly blessed

As their presence a gift they give.

As the robins leave

The blue jays decide to stay

While cardinals make their plans to wait

For the summer sky to turn grey.

As I hear them chirp

I offer breadcrumbs and seeds

Hoping I can give them the love

That every creature needs​.

The hounds run to the trees

With the chipmunks and squirrels on high

Giving chase on cool fall days

Wishing they could perhaps fly.

The sights and sounds of autumn

As frosty grass crunches beneath

The pumpkins empty of seed

Orange rind for deer I bequeath.

Though the weather is cool

Forming Goosebumps on my arm

All of the creatures assure me

That there’s no reason for alarm.

They convince me to stay nearby

Asking to please join them as they play

Promising that visiting will provide me

A warm and happy day.

image

9 thoughts on “Friends of fall-A collaboration

  1. Thanks Michael and I know how you feel with squirrels and deer alike…fun on the roads back and forth…I feed the birds in the winter once the hard snow flies…till then, don’t like the raccoons that eat it all and torment my dogs in the middle of the night…sleepless nights never appeal as it interferes with my favorite dream time….the beauty of fall…today clouds, rain,snow and hen back to sun again….crazy cycle of weather…kind of like the squirrels…back forth…Oooh shiny things….argh….fun though😊 peace my friend, K

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Beautiful fall reflections! I turned the corner in a car today just as a squirrel was darting into the road. He did the fastest one-eighty I’ve ever seen– pretty much before I even saw him. I try to imagine sometimes how they think… how fast their awareness spins… I can’t do it… Ha! I’m also amazed at the birds that leave, and the ones that stay. It has to be so tough for them to survive the snow-laden northern winters…

    Peace
    Michael

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Yes, the robins are smart and sensible….my husband must be part Robin…as I sit here watching snow, he’s down in 85 degrees without me….sigh. It was a fun collaboration, I’m not good at rhyme either but I take my cues from B as she is very good at it. Thanks and I’m so glad you enjoyed it😊

    Like

  4. The poem was lovely and so much fun to read. I cannot rhyme and do it pleasantly. I enjoyed the birds and wildlife. Especially referees to Robins flying South. Wish I could. . . Ha ha!

    Liked by 1 person

Your words are stars and I humbly thank you for shining your light for me....

