Three day/three quote challenge Day 2

I was invited to participate in the three day quote challenge and after already missing a day, for which I cannot apologize for due to other pressings needs that arose but T.Wayne over at A Joyful Process told me it’s cool.  The challenge given is for three days in a row, post a quote and invite three other bloggers to join in the challenge. One would think this an easy task yet I see so many have already undertaken this and I do not wish to put you on the spot so I think from here on in, if you choose to do so, you may participate with this open invite. If you do, please add a link in my comments section so that others may find your lovely blogs and explore your worlds. 

My quote for the day is as follows:

“If only you could suddenly be unaware of all things, then you could pass into an oblivion of your own body” 

Meister Eckhart

I’ve had this quote for years now and it came from the little zen calendar on Sunday 28 October 2001. Time passes by so quickly and we get so caught up in life, the drama of the evils of the world, even mindless television shows. We immerse ourselves in the outer to avoid the truth of the reflection within. I sit here listening to a fly buzzing at the window on a cold November day. I set it free of course and I’m quite sure it doesn’t realize that although the sun shines giving warmth to the room, it is indeed quite cool outside. But it has a desire to fly in nature and I shall oblige. But in the quiet of this room, I did become aware of it. Aware of the raindrops dried in dirt spots on the window and of now, right this very moment another fly buzzing furiously high above me in the skylight. It will have to descend if it seeks release for I cannot reach that high. 

So then how to become unaware of all things, when our attention is focused on the minutiae and so I site here and I become aware of the breathing of Miss Apple the dog as she slumbers on the window seat beside me in the sunbeam. I hear the gentle rhythm of breath moving in and then out slowly, gently and as only a meditation can, I feel myself fall into the same rhythm. Slow and deep and I am aware of this, yet strangely apart from it. 

I feel the calm descend as beyond the pane the last vestiges of leaves sway in the invisible breeze and it is only with the sudden boom of a gunshot that echoes through the air beyond, that I move past this drifting into awarenes of self. This is life, each moment, each second, each thing noticed and not. And still the fly buzzes above me, perhaps unsure as it beats against the glass, that we are inside looking out for the opening. The reflection comes back to land on the soul still searching. For now, it is enough just to know which direction to go.

Beautiful photo found at : http://fineartamerica.com/featured/-summer-morning-magic-veikko-suikkanen.html

11 thoughts on “Three day/three quote challenge Day 2

  1. My thoughts exactly, hitting the head of the nail with an invisible hammer that sits on the edge of consciousness. We know it will do it’s job as that is all it can do, as all we can do is just be in the bliss of the peace that covers us in it’s wonderment and self. Thank you Hariod, Kim ( the girl from the land of calm serenity)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The kitties have since swapped places – and now the other one is here, purring and sucking his tail. It’s soothing to be surrounded by so much contentment.

    I’m with you – I’m not averse to rifling through baskets for what I need. Folding is for the birds. Whatever that means.

    Enjoy the day, Kim! (Keep enjoying, I should say!)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. The laundry machine will do that , and kitties and I sit here watching a reflection moving across my ceiling from beyond the window where a bucket that holds water ripples in the sunshine, like a free movie in a way. a white laser show….I find peace stirs me when I am still and open to the simple things….sets my mind free and I just feel such an overwhelming need to share joy after so much darkness lately. It is truly good to feel so alive. My laundry was yesterday…see there you go reminding me I still have a load to fold…eh, it can wait….feeling to high for mundane chores….maybe later….maybe not…. ๐Ÿ™‚ Have an amazing day Stephanie, Kim

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Well I’m grateful to you, for reminding me to be still. I get so wrapped up in my own dark thoughts, stuck in my head and bogged down in depression that I forget…to be still…in a positive way. To appreciate the sounds of the washing machine filling up (reminding me of how lucky I am to have running water and automated laundry, the birds play-fighting outside my window, the cat snoring at my hip.

    Thank you…and peace and happy Sunday to you as well. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I am learning more each day appreciation and truth and I am not normally one to comment alot, and I felt that you needed to know just how, as I sit here in the sun taking selfies….another thing I NEVER do, that life is too short not to take the time to say “hey, you know what, you make a difference and I do appreciate you” we should have a day where we just stop and do that, just stop and say “you, yes you….thank you” ๐Ÿ™‚ tag, you’re it…peace my friend and happy Sunday…Always, K

    Liked by 1 person

  6. You’ve just made me cry, woman! (Happy tears.) Thank you…that means more to me than you can know. Or maybe you do, in a way. You’ve just brightened my day considerably. Thank you…thank you…and I love our fun light chats so much. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Do you know that I read your posts and you have taught me how to let go and laugh again, I mean, really truly laugh and feel the lightness that this world needs more of. Just the light hearted responses we share make me feel like this world is smaller than what we think and that within each of us there is a soul that shines bright when encountering that bliss of a smile? Just thought you should know and I thank You my friend, and Eduardo too….I think he started it all…..Peace, K
    and thank you for your comment too….smiling ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Thank you Russ, I think we all spend a lot of time in search for something we feel is missing and as we grow closer to our source, we realize that everything is just projection and what we assign to it and that we just are and that is enough and what we had been missing was always inside, we just kept hitting that window of need that once removed, allows us to fly free. I’m glad you enjoyed. I am loving life and the calm and peace just blow me away so often. Life is good, truly and indeed, we are all blessed.
    Kim

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I especially love your last sentence. You are truly blessed, for many still search for the direction in which to go. May you find what you seek and need, my friend.

    Liked by 2 people

Your words are stars and I humbly thank you for shining your light for me....

