100 word story challenge

T. Wayne over at A joyful process invited me to take part in a challenge to write a 100 word story and although my mind is still moving into awake mode, I think I managed to do okay. The challenge has rules of course, and with the 100 words you can go over by no more than 10 words. You can nominate who you wish but I think you should at least pick three to make it fun. 

I wrote this as a letter to friends, all who reside in this blogger space and one up in the stars. The gift of friendship is a pure and joyful experience, one I didn’t have as a child or young adult, not in any true sense but the way we reach out to others here, in this place, and the gifts of beauty and words of support can make a heart soar when it sometimes forgets that it is not alone in this world. I value the friendships forged and this is a letter to everyone and no one…but you know who you all are.

Here is my 100 word story/letter.

We were at times sitting in the darkness of this world alone. Why you left I don’t know. A life burned into ashes, moving on the wind. I could not reach you, in darkness I could not see you and that was so empty a feeling. Your words like the wind, blew back to find me, with life and hope I knew that a friend even in absence was still there, out in space watching, waiting and like a gift from the stars, you’ve returned to shine your special light, reminding me it was ok, to dream and live fully. 

I received a beautiful quote this morning from a friend and it touched me so deeply that I needed to include it here, to share with the world this special gift.

“The most beautiful people we have known are those who have known defeat, known suffering, known struggle, known loss, and have found their way out of the depths. These persons have an appreciation, a sensitivity, and an understanding of life that fills them with compassion, gentleness, and a deep loving concern. Beautiful people do not just happen.”

― Elisabeth Kübler-Ross

Thanks to T, check out the original post here :

http://joyfulprocessblog.com/2015/11/27/the-100-word-story-challenge/

My nominees are:

https://themusebag.wordpress.com/2015/11/27/awkward-apology/

https://deathbycartoon.wordpress.com/2015/11/27/it-wasnt-built-to-last/

https://danieljeromeantil.wordpress.com/2015/11/28/yet-here-on-earth/
https://spykeyone.wordpress.com/2015/11/28/my-brain-hurts/
https://gettingthroughanxiety.wordpress.com/2015/11/24/3-days-3-quotes-challenge-part-2/
If you want to take part and aren’t listed here, you are of course welcome to join in the fun. Here is to friendship, and thank you for being a part of my journey.

Peace and love

Kim

15 thoughts on “100 word story challenge

  1. Pingback: Social Murderer | SpyKeyOne

  2. Pingback: A Challenge! | A Vixen at Gloaming

  3. Hahaha! Girl, I know it – if anyone I knew read this thing, I wouldn’t be cursing at all. Well, not like I do here anyway.

    T. Wayne challenged me to do it – I’m just not sure what to write about yet. I think I will try my hand at it, though! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Glad you enjoyed…join in if you want…no pressure….no time constraints…god knows me it takes a coins age to get to here things normally, but then again, if my dogs had their choice, a coons age would be mighty short….like a big a squirrel I think…but I don’t take the chance….don’t feed the birds, no raccoons, no dog damage….case solved…anywhoooooo when and if you want add your ten cents in…inflation….used to be two cents….OMG…I’m beginning to sound like you….maybe I should drop an F bomb….nah, my little sis would kill me if my nephew reads…c’est la vie….love ya💜💜💜

    Liked by 1 person

  5. so glad you enjoyed it B, it is for any of my friends going through tough times and to a friend no longer with me, yet she still is and I have such an appreciation today and everyday for the gift of friends. Have a great day, K ❤

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Thank you T for the inspiration especially that particular song….brought back bittersweet memories and the need to rise to the challenge, from the heart.
    Peace and love,
    Kim

    Liked by 2 people

  7. Thanks for participating, and for the lovely comments you left at my blog on my post. That particular song I chose is one of my all-time favorites and holds a special place in my heart. I love your story!

    Liked by 2 people

Your words are stars and I humbly thank you for shining your light for me....

