Through laughter and tears (an ode to friendship and writing)

In between a thought and the sentence read,

there is a voice in this world

who captured the secrets of you and I,

who has hung the story out on their sleeve

and somewhere caught in the middle 

I thought I heard my name,

It told me of life, of those forgotten yesterdays.

The days I see when I close my eyes,

back in school and first loves,

family matters and other things best forgotten,

you told my story for the world,

but it wasn’t just mine,

it was his and hers

it was everyone who read and saw

the reflected image like a mirror held up

to relive the emotion

the laughter through tears

of times now passed yet revisited,

older and wiser

and able to stand tall and say

that was me,

thank you for your courage 

to share and say I understand.

Because you are me and he is she

and the world is one whole being,

moving to the beat of the same drum at times,

and how they are dancing free

and telling the story of then and now

just like you and me.

   
 

7 thoughts on “Through laughter and tears (an ode to friendship and writing)

  1. Thanks B, found them on the Internet and said gotta use them, I don’t usually post a lot of memes but feel free to use them if you’d like, I borrowed them too😊 so glad you enjoyed, peace and love, K

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I am always amazed by the words that come from others that could have been spun by ourselves…..the magic of humanity😊 peace and blessings, K

    Like

  3. “there is a voice in this world

    who captured the secrets of you and I,

    who has hung the story out on their sleeve”

    Thanks for being a voice in this world. Loved this poem of friendship.
    And “yes,” those who are truly our friends are our friends no matter what.

    Liked by 2 people

Your words are stars and I humbly thank you for shining your light for me....

