Enter darkness

It came in the clouded light of a dying day.

I watched the eyes staring through me with intent,

This beautiful yet menacing creature kept moving towards me, steady and determined.

I felt the fear rise up within,

as my throat constricted tighter

and sweat rose within the hairs on my arms

tingling beneath the coolness of the falling sun,

I knew it as evil,

that it had come to harm

and I reached out and grabbed it’s soft muzzle

holding so tight

both hands locked in a circle,

closing off the sharp white teeth

with tight clenched hands,

I was trying to save something

myself or perhaps my canine companions,

And it watched me so coldly with calculating eyes, waiting for it’s chance to break free,

writhing in my arms trying to gain the upper hand, to escape my terror, to pry my hands away with sharp claws,

and I slammed it against the wood of a tree

Smashing it until finally it became still

and only then did I release him,

breathing heavily I felt sad for I knew

I had killed it because I was afraid,

that my fear was what drove this act,

that I had to save someone or something from this darkness,

this evil in form of beast.

I felt the tears falling and I couldn’t stop them

and I looked down on the stillness form

and his eyes gazed at me steadily,

and it was then I knew I had another chance,

to find another way

to walk away unharmed and to let him go,

I turned slowly towards home

and awoke cold with the drying sweat

tingling my hair and body,

pulled the blanket higher

and slipped act into a dream.

thoughts on a vivid dream I had last night as a coyote attacked me, and I it, as I gripped so tightly knowing the only safety I would have was to kill it. Yet it lived and I awoke pooled in sweat, breathing heavy in the darkness while beside me my little dog kept kicking me in my sleep, dreaming of running in sunlight .

13 thoughts on “Enter darkness

  1. We usually are trying to kill the ‘wild’ things in us, considering them dangerous, but most often they are noting else but beautiful, free and untamed side of our nature. Magnificently written, Kim. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I didn’t know that at the time, just woke a bit freaked out especially about the fact I tried to kill a beautiful creature….I like the wild at a distance….until you said this I hadn’t given that thought any measure but it sounds much better than just having a crazy scary dream. Thanks for my morning gift of wisdom my friend and happy Tuesday to you. Peace and love, Kim

    Like

  3. Wow, Kim. An incredible dream. Quite a battle. Fighting fear and in the end knowing you could let it go, and walk away unharmed. There was such beauty in this dream.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I don’t generally have nightmares….I’m just happy I didn’t wake with my hands locked on my dog….that would have been horrid, I am used to vivid dreams but not so dark and creepy. Peace and here’s to a night of better dreams, K

    Like

Your words are stars and I humbly thank you for shining your light for me....

