On the fringe

I see the words

I taste them like a foreign rememberance from youth,

Like the bittersweet chips

That stretched surprisingly so far in comparison

To a melting chocolate bar.

They wallow around within the empty space of my mind

Running like wild horses without borders,

No boundaries exist to reign in

To gather close and capture

That which I search for.

I can see it in here

Behind eyes in the dark corners of this room

Listening to the machines move

Spitting oil on spinning tools

And it steals it,

That thought that got away from me,

And it toys with me,

Waving like a roadside blowup doll made of wind and air,

Taunting or mocking or just saying

Stop in and have a look see

And grabbing the attention away

From tasks at hand that I may have forgotten

On purpose or not

And this time is mine

And you can see where the time begins and ends

But here is an open space just at the edge

Blank and waiting

For the final escape

Unnoticed.

Slide off the edge and run

Keep moving and not looking back

Lest we see them coming to drag it kicking and screaming

Making it conform to the paper cut out doll

That fell off the wall

And slid away

Below a dust covered dresser

Amongst the dust bunnies and dog hair,

Fading over time

Unrecognizable or remembered when found,

Where did it come from

And what the heck is it?

So we toss it away

This little slip of nothing that no one wants

Till someone comes to claim it

And we then ponder

What did we do with that old thing?

10 thoughts on “On the fringe

  1. Yeah, it was one of those where the hell did my mind disappear to kind of days/moments…but then again, I have many….maybe it’s a good thing perhaps if you enjoyed it so much. I’m traveling and plan on catching up on my reading this weekend. peace and blessings, Kim

    Like

  2. Thanks Sheldon, my mind seems to be a rattling cage at time and the little thoughts escape on me….games of hide and seek and when I find it, you never know what it will morph into😊 peace and blessings, Kim

    Like

  3. Ah, it’s nice to know I am not alone in this phenomenon. It drives me up a wall sometimes but I guess it serves some sort of purpose, what, I’m not sure😉 have a beautiful day, almost time for the beach, yay….I’ll wave when I pass your state on my way.Peace and blessings, Kim

    Liked by 1 person

Your words are stars and I humbly thank you for shining your light for me....

