The lapse

I danced between a million stars

Weaving in and out in a lively waltz

And there was such joy to be found

In the moment I was away

Caught in that second when the eye blinks

And the mind loses its bearing

Of where it was,

What it was thinking

Because the beauty so enthralled

The lapse was never noticed.

The little lights vibrated

Their frequency so high and in a crystal ringing pitch

 I heard everything in the chamber

Of an echo of silence

And it rang like the orchestra

Unseen in the pit below

Yet it was understood that they were truly there,

A melody played for me

The eternal tune of all that lives 

And of all that lives unseen in memories,

The crush blended like cream

Of a thousand or millions souls

Those that had lifted me to the ceiling of stars

To join in this ethereal dance

And like a dervish I threw my head back

And spinning round faster and faster

I saw the lights like a carousel

For in that moment I was a child again

Riding up and down on shining wooden horses

And I laughed out loud

Hearing the unexpected noise I stopped,

And the feeling of joy was suddenly unbound

And I stood there on damp pavement wondering

In that very second of escape

Had I really been there at all.

Oh the magic of a lapsed dream caught

In the act of being itself

In all it’s wonderful beauty.

4 thoughts on “The lapse

  1. Thanks so very much my friend, so glad you enjoyed it. Some days go better than others. I’ve been up and down lately pressed for time but will be back this weekend to do my proper job of reading, but comments I don’t like to delay on lest a body thinks I don’t care 🙂 peace and love, K

    Liked by 1 person

Your words are stars and I humbly thank you for shining your light for me....

