Pieces of me

Caught in places divided

Black and white world of color

Those who see between the lines

Slip in unnoticed

Say nothing when called before

Judge and jury.

Lines and empty spaces hide

The realm of thought obscured 

And we trace these moments between

Sleep and waking and living.

Who places the lines before us

Perhaps a game of hopscotch lost

When we traverse beyond the comfort zone,

Step on the crack to break a back

And jump over the crumbling sidewalks

To safety of the grass.

I think of childhood games

And of the here and now where everything is

Yet isn’t as it seems

When words sit unspoken on the tongue 

And the song keeps tempo

To this day and age

Where we look away and see all we wish,

And then finally,

We find the door open and we step carefully through

To see not just moments in black or white

Or dreams in shades of grey

But a rainbow of life waiting patiently

For our overdue arrival.

5 thoughts on “Pieces of me

  1. Thank you so very much, I’m finding so much joy just letting he thoughts flow lately, getting back into my groove of daily writing and I am so happy I could touch you with my words. Peace and love, Kim

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love that last line. Really beautiful. These lines also struck me as especially meaningful:

    Lines and empty spaces hide

    The realm of thought obscured

    And we trace these moments between

    Sleep and waking and living.

    Liked by 1 person

Your words are stars and I humbly thank you for shining your light for me....

