The gathering place

So much beauty found,

Picking one after another

Colors and ideas overflowing

And we struggle to gather more,

To keep it,

To hang on and not let go,

Bearing the heavy weight

We fall.

Looking around at the endless piles

Things that are things

Some with meaning

Others just gathered because

That is the way it always was,

But some point along the way we stop.

We survey these things and let out a tired breath,

We surrender to the weariness of trying

To gather too much,

To hang onto too much

And we look for guidance

Unsure of how we’ve come this far

Carrying all of “this”

And we slowly begin to sort through it,

This piece

That piece,

We set things aside that have become too heavy

And we feel lighter as we lift that which gives joy,

That cannot be found just anywhere

For it holds a piece of us

In its element

Emotion and love cannot be measured

On scales or like air in a balloon,

It cannot be anything but what it is

So we gather these happy light things

And perhaps add them to the basket

And we inhale the fragrance

Of the joy that they bring

And looking behind we see others behind us,

Scurrying here and there

Gathering what was left behind

And then we smile because in the letting go,

We gave something to someone else

That may feel light

And happy in their presence

And we are free to move forward

Unencumbered by something 

That became nothing important

In the end.

So we start a new journey, 

feet walking on air in lightness

We become free by just being

By not clinging

By not taking refuge any longer

In the gathering place.

18 thoughts on “The gathering place

  1. Thanks Vera, we are downsizing for,the move and letting items and perceptions go, freeing up space for new things to happen, new cherished things to come. So glad you enjoyed. I won’t be tired of seeing this snow when it is in my rearview mirror😊❄️
    Peace and love,
    Kim

    Liked by 1 person

  2. No, I remember them after I wake up and as long as I write about them in the first two hours, I can read my thought poetry and recall as if seeing it for the first time😊 the fun gifts in life, blessed in that way. Peace and love, Kim

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I just love synchronicity! I’m writing a post and have included you, needed your link and then you write me (so I didn’t have to look far to find you). Thank you! I hope you enjoy the post (wink, wink).

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thanks Bee, it was a happy write for me, just letting go and being is such a freeing thing, I attempt it every day, and sometimes I even succeed. Peace and love and happy days, K

    Like

  5. Thanks Tiffany, auto correct is so fun…the things it comes up with and I’m so glad you enjoyed this piece, it was a soothing write on the fly for me but I was happy with the outcome. Peace and love, K😊

    Liked by 1 person

Your words are stars and I humbly thank you for shining your light for me....

