Silver dollar memories

Scent of yesterday fills my mind
sweet anticipation as the sun begins to rise,
silver dollar pancakes on a platter
built by loving hands just for me
and the bacon sits beside,
crisp, the way I like.
Fresh squeezed juice in tiny glasses
not like today’s large equivalent,
for she knew that a full belly went farther
and sugar made one wider
“but eat hearty my girl” she’d say with a smile,
“and then go outside and play awhile”
and I’d fill my plate with the golden cakes
and two pieces of bacon for protein I’d take
and lacing my sneakers I’d run through the door
for outside adventures that lasted till lunch
and then back out again
playing games until dusk.
There weren’t any phrases that are different then now,
except encouragement to be “outside playing” or go read for awhile,
for life has become boxes of sound
and gadgets that busy the mind while it dies
and silver dollar pancakes,
haven’t seen those in years
when her recipe along with her passed
and bacon these days comes sparingly
but now I can say
as I grow older and grey
how I miss those simple days and her loving smile
when we would sit and together read awhile,
and she would tuck me in as I fell gently away
into dreams of adventures of tomorrow
and today.
These days the sun beckons and I walk each morning as it wakes,
breathing in the air, the flowers that bloom
and I may not “play” like back in the day
but each night I lay down exhausted and calm
sleeping soundly and dreaming
perhaps of silver dollar memories
and long ago faces
in familiar home places
and wake with a smile in my heart.

And now for our prompt (optional, as always)! Today, I’d like to challenge you to write a poem that incorporates “the sound of home.” Think back to your childhood, and the figures of speech and particular ways of talking that the people around you used, and which you may not hear anymore.

15 thoughts on “Silver dollar memories

  1. Thank you Sue, what a wonderful thing to say. You’ve made my day even more sunnier than it already was😊☀️🌴 peace and love and here’s to many more happy memories through this fun place called life😊
    Always,
    Kim

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You are the stars, my dear. I have similar memories, and you have awakened all of my senses. My diet may have to wait one more day! You are an inspiration and life needs more people like you taking part in it. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you so much, she was a cook and owned her own restaurant ….many years and many fond memories….priceless….could really go for a plate with fresh Maple Syrup.mmmmm😊

    Liked by 1 person

Your words are stars and I humbly thank you for shining your light for me....

