A well of desperation….

“As if you could kill time without injuring eternity. 

The mass of men lead lives of quiet desperation”

And I stand above,

Yet still a part of the whole of this piece,

This fragment of a universal space

Does it flow up or down

These thoughts that forever run,

As if trying to catch a Monarch on a lilac

As it flits from here to there

And knowing the score,

The fragility of the conquest we hold back from doing

That which could, would cause harm

And in becoming for a moment that entity,

We soar free to places,

Landing lightly in a second upon that which we seek.

A peaceful place,

Or crushing sound as water smashes and smooths

The mighty rocks far below

We stand above it so small

So weak in comparison

To natures strength,

Our only power is in destroying

Yet it is that strength that is needed to refrain.

We hold in our hands all of the answers we seek

Yet like sand we let them fall in the wind

Scattered because we fear to hold tight,

To change,

To become so much more

Than mere words could ever say.

Image was taken at Watkins Glen NY on a trip a few years back, the first two lines above are from Walden by Henry D. Thoreau….one of my favorite books of all time. 

And now for our (optional) prompt! Today, I’d like to challenge you to write a poem that begins with a line from a another poem (not necessarily the first one), but then goes elsewhere with it. This will work best if you just start with a line of poetry you remember, but without looking up the whole original poem. (Or, find a poem that you haven’t read before and then use a line that interests you). The idea is for the original to furnish a sort of backdrop for your work, but without influencing you so much that you feel stuck just rewriting the original!. For example, you could begin, “Shall I compare thee to a summer’s day,” or “I have measured out my life with coffee spoons,” or “I miss them, but it wasn’t a disaster,” or “they persevere in swimming where they like.” Really, any poem will do to provide your starter line – just so long as it gives you the scope to explore. Happy writing!

13 thoughts on “A well of desperation….

  1. Thanks Morgan, I didn’t follow todays though…had other words on my mind…I should start my day by reading the prompt and go from there but eh, too bad….you gotta write what you feel regardless. Glad you enjoyed and no Shakespeare….

    Like

  2. Thanks Benjamin,
    I was looking at the I,age and was thinking you couldn’t tell if the pic was upside down, was the water up or down and the rest kind of flowed from there…as water likes to do, flowing onward. Welcome back my friend,
    Peace and love,
    Kim

    Like

  3. There’s been some good prompts this month, I’ve done a lot of them, but not all….I just have to keep up the daily writing thing once April’s over😊
    Peace, love and good things,
    K

    Liked by 1 person

Your words are stars and I humbly thank you for shining your light for me....

