Opened doors

The door closed and there fell silence

she turned and walked away

in the heart of it all she knew it was over

Each word that he said pierced her very soul

she waited in anticipation for all she hoped

his eyes held tears as he watched her smile grow

she opened the door with the twist of a key

the soft knock echoed through the empty hallway

she glanced at the clock and found it odd he was late

as he stood down on the street taking deep breaths

she checked her hair and makeup, wanting perfection

today was the day she thought to herself.

 

This was my offering for NaPoWriMo and below was the prompt:

And now, for our prompt (optional, as always). Today I’d like to challenge you to write a poem that tells a story. But here’s the twist – the story should be told backwards. The first line should say what happened last, and work its way through the past until you get to the beginning. Now, the story doesn’t have to be complicated (it’s probably better if it isn’t)!

5 thoughts on “Opened doors

  1. Thanks Sue, I read the prompt I. The morning and thought oh no, not going to try this, then I thought I’d write it out and cut each sentence and repast them in order being so wise, but nope….so I just picked the first line that came to me and went from there. It’s funny, when I stop,over thinking things and get out of my own way, it seems to work out fine. Life is funny that way😊 I am glad you liked it😊 peace and love Sue and have a most excellent day, K

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is absolute perfection and I love it. You really write beautifully. There is no way I could have approached this one and pulled off such a flowing piece of art. I feel like I am standing right there experiencing this. You really are amazing. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  3. that’s kind of funny, earlier today I was sewing a button on a pair of shorts and had a hell of a time threading the needle. Needed my cheater glasses I think 🙂 glad you enjoyed and I hope your day is going good.
    Always,
    K

    Like

Your words are stars and I humbly thank you for shining your light for me....

