A coat of many colors

She cut each piece by loving hand

put together with thoughts of joy

her gift would bring in shades I love,

a coat of many colors.

We smile together years ago

today so far away but close in thought,

I long to hold her in my arms

to say a simple thank you for it all.

Memories light the mind like stars

and I can see her smile as I close my eyes,

content in her love like a babe in arms

I am a piece of her cut from the hand of God.

We move through years living our days

often forgetting to take the time to stop and say

I miss you and love you

and am thinking of you each day,

but I know she knows and her voice I will hear

across the miles,

transcending the tears

and I can hold that coat and remember each stitch

she put in with love and care

and somehow it’s enough

as I feel the softness surround me like a hug,

to know that she’s here.

This is the first mothers day that I will be apart from my mother. 1300 miles away, and as I write this, the phone rings…it’s MOM…her ears must be ringing. 🙂 Love you mom….

19 thoughts on “A coat of many colors

  1. Thanks Crystal, I have such a devotion to my coat, although moving down south have very little time to wear it in this weather, but I shall hold it and think of the love hat went into each and every stitch, peace and love, Kim

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I thought you may have had a family which experienced similar lives as Dolly. With a seamstress in your family, making a special patch jacket really could have been a conincidental, parallel experience! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. That’s where the idea of he coat came from, she’s been a Dolly fan for years, and I think the copy I have is from Emmylou Harris, love he song and I have two coats, one in fall colors and the second she made in my favorite purples💜😊 I am blessed and your day sounds amazing, have fun, eat well and share love with the kids💜

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thank you so very much, have a lovely day yourself, I’m only a parent to two dogs and a kitty but they made me a nice dinner😊 have a beautiful day. Peace and love, Kim

    Liked by 1 person

  5. It is hard to be apart from our mothers, but glad ours are here on Earth. This story of the coat of many colors reminds me of Dolly Parton’s children’s book and her song. Soon, her movie will be out. Sometimes we all have patched together clothes, I had a lovely quilted jumper my Mom made of squares of different colors. This story was beautiful because there is a picture of you and your special, loving mother!
    always feel twinges of guilt, but my brothers live closer to Mom and they don’t have children, as I do, to spend Mother’s Day with them. I have had a lovely weekend, visiting each of my three grown children and 7 grandies enjoying being Queen for the weekend! 🙂 A movie, a pot of flowers, lunch and snacks all included! I need to call my Mom soon! She was out for lunch last time I tried. . . ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Yes, it was a nice talk, filled with love and well wishes and I’m sure she will read this later….she laughed when I told her I was just wrapping it up and then she calls me…I’m supposed to call her😊 we’re good that way….💜

    Liked by 1 person

  7. So lovely Kim, nice to have a hug, even if only through the phone now. My mom is 750 miles apart, and it’s very difficult! I hope you enjoyed your chat today. Xx

    Liked by 1 person

  8. This gave me such a good feeling deep down inside! I was so happy while reading it, especially these lines:

    “I am a piece of her cut from the hand of God.

    We move through years living our days

    often forgetting to take the time to stop and say

    I miss you and love you

    and am thinking of you each day,

    but I know she knows and her voice I will hear

    across the miles,

    transcending the tears

    and I can hold that coat and remember each stitch

    she put in with love and care”

    A very Happy Mother’s Day to your Mom. I am so grateful for b/c she gave me you.

    Like

Your words are stars and I humbly thank you for shining your light for me....

