Softly she comes

I thought it was gone before it began. Curled so tight into itself next to a deformed bloom that made it about half way then quit right where it stopped, half whole and dying. For days it remained there, clenched in its shell, the hidden beauty shy with the rest of the bunch. I walked out this morning and didn’t even glance her way, why would I, for she was not going to make it through the day, she wasn’t worthy as a big green tight pod sitting in water that evaporated daily, but I left here there….waiting….and waiting. 

Something happened overnight, perhaps some magic seeds twinkled in the midnight hour upon her sad self. Cinderella got her gown on and when I awoke, was mesmerized by her finery. Here the big bloom that couldn’t, finally could, and did she ever. Petals of peachy silk softness illuminated by the filtered sun, sitting there taking up half the vase and giving the daisies a run for the money in the looks department. She looked almost haughty in her upright uptight gorgeous way, saying look at me, look at me, the runway model of lilies she is, preening in her silky soft peachy petals, a center point of becoming. Here when I had almost given up hope, thinking my brown thumb did something wrong to deform the one and stunt this one, a miraculous sight surprises me yet again…..and did I tell you she has a little sister now too waiting to bloom? Priceless happiness from a four dollar Publix bouquet…..splendid indeed. 

6 thoughts on “Softly she comes

  1. I was ready to throw her out, one opened a quarter of the way and stopped, thought I had a defective batch and then felt bad and gave her more time….little sis still in limbo waiting for her moment…slow bloomers I guess😊 thanks Robin, peace and love and welcome back😊

    Like

  2. What a lovely post for a simple bouquet which outdid itself in beauty and grace. Your description of her as Cinderella and expecting her sister was so sweet, too.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks Laine,
    I’m sorry to hear you won’t be around my friend but I know,you have bigger fish to fry with your upcoming publications. It has been a joy all of these years reading and talking. You are an amazing writer and I know you will find success in all you do. Keep in touch my friend, will miss you. Sigh….
    Peace and love always,
    Kim

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hi Kim, I just made my last post on wp but wanted to stop by and thank you for all the inspiration and insight you have shared with me these last years. You remain in my thoughts and prayers. ❤ Laine

    Liked by 1 person

Your words are stars and I humbly thank you for shining your light for me....

