Universal link

I think of this life, how we move through it, relate to it and the people we encounter, wondering sometimes why it is we connect to those who become an attachment to our lives, stuck like a happy piece of Velcro to our hearts. We find ourselves in unexpected places sometimes, and often making a connection, perhaps with a smile, a word of positivity or a hug to console. 

I heard a front screen door slam this morning and children’s voices, excitedly telling their mom that there were dogs out there. We were on our morning walk with the pups and two small boys came tentatively towards us, one asking if he could pet them. I turned and smiled, told them they’d love to be petted and that they were friendly. They took turns stroking Chi as Apple stood there with her Apple smile, staring past the boys who were holding up her squirrel hunt but stood stoicly while they reached out to pet her too. They smiled and looked back at their mother who stood by the house holding an infant in diapers, she raised her hand with a wave and I returned a wave, told the boys to have fun at school and we were back on our way. I turned back and as they walked to the bus stop, they kept turning around and waving, excitement and smiles lit them with a happy glow.

One small gesture that probably made their day that much more special. The dogs chose the direction we took this morning, and perhaps they knew that two children needed a bit of dog love , that’s how the universe works, casting magic when least expected.  

I am always energized by the little energy nudge this world gives, whether it’s an unexpected email from a friend carrying within a beautiful poem, or a letter of encouragement and love in the mail, or a piece of Key Lime pie delivered with a single candle from a special waitress for a birthday gift, so many wonderful things happen, we just have to stop sometimes and recognize each one and know how blessed we are. Friends, family and strangers all bring little pieces of happy to our lives, I love this universe and its gifts. We are indeed blessed.


The Apple post got a lot of love too, so today I thought I’d share the first photos I saw of the girls. The first was Chi’s SPCA pic and below is Apples from Manhatten animal control. Our two goofy happy blessings…and we hit a record today of an hour and twenty minutes for our walk….guess who’s tuckered out now? Enjoy your gifts my friend, each and every day.

22 thoughts on “Universal link

  1. I embrace all of the nudges and welcome them to guide me, to not Rush blindly through life and to watch for them. Thank you, so glad you enjoyed it,
    Peace and nudges,
    Kim

    Liked by 1 person

  2. That is a fun exchange, you seem to attract the fun happy crowd. Was thinking of you yesterday…wondering if somewhere around here I could take a pic of a whole army of gnomes to send to you, the closest I got was a shelf in Walmart that had five…didn’t seem worthy enough and it was too dark in there…I shall keep.searching….follow the yellow brick road….always my fave movie….didn’t care for driving through Kansas though….boring…..put me to sleep…

    Like

  3. “stuck like a happy piece of Velcro to our hearts” That’s worth borrowing! Nice thing happened today. I was lost in Chadstone Shopping Centre. It is the biggest in the Southern Hemisphere. I approached a middle aged lady and asked for direction to get out to the car park. She told me and I said, referring to the whole complex, “It’s not like Ballarat.” And she lent over and just touched my arm, “No, darling, It’s not like Ballarat. We’re not in Kansas anymore.” I liked that.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. You Will overcome this my friend and be so much stronger for it.
    When I got cancer I had a little pity party once or twice but then began to look at it as if it were a gift. Why was it given to me? The only thing I garnered from it is I would learn something, be strong, muddle my bald way through it and survive. It was painful, exhausting and now almost ten years later I look back and thank the big guy for the gift. I wouldn’t have begun writing again had I not gotten sick. The pain I had known in life was nothing compared to the idea of dying when I hadn’t achieved anything substantial in my life. I was never a go getter. I was shy and thought I was talentless, I hid in my room, read voraciously , and began writing ten sucky little poems a day until it became habit. But it wasn’t anything, the words weren’t anything, but after being ill, I found a new voice and that has made all the difference. It made me write authentically and in doing so, keeps my spirits up and others sometimes too. It made me dream and in having those dreams and believing whole heartedly in them, I found peace and happiness. You know where to find me and I’m proud you pulled up the big boy pants…..I’ve always loved that phrase….makes me giggle and smile….pull ’em up and dance my friend, if only in pain free dreams.
    Peace and love,
    Always,
    K

    Liked by 1 person

  5. The Dr yesterday
    Was not what I was hoping for
    But going to the Dr
    Is not like going to the store and buying something
    You just can’t leave if you don’t find what you are looking for
    So I had to quickly take off my little boy pants off
    And put the big boy pants on
    While I screamed all the way home
    Today it’s anxiety from hell
    It’s from the step down
    Of the pain meds
    But there’s nothing I can do
    But to hold on to the yellow light
    The Sheldon Perspective

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Thank you Sheldon,
    Hope it went well yesterday for you….I get an extraction next Wednesday….fun, fun but whatcha gonna do? Taking a break from playing Tom Sawyer and painting the fence….hands getting achy….but a marked Improvement, shiny white to glow in the sunshine☀️😊till the kitty climbs over and leaves her dirty little prints all over it.
    Peace and love,
    Always,
    Kim Sawyer

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Thanks Morgan, the girls like to spread their joy wherever they go….when they’re not jumping on you and chasing squirrels that is😊🐕🐕🐾

    Like

  8. Such a beautiful post
    This is life
    And it’s wantsome love
    It’s wondrous world
    To be present to receive its gifts
    To be able to capture the moment
    And realized that you’ve been blessed
    The flowers, the children,the walk that turn into a unexpected journey
    Love in the cure
    There’s none better
    Prayers and blessings
    Above all Peace
    The Sheldon Perspective

    Liked by 1 person

Your words are stars and I humbly thank you for shining your light for me....

