Beneath the splendor

The night stole in like an intruder, light peering through the spaces, the cracks of the blinds coming alive with shadow as I watched the play between darkness and the moon that crept quietly through a clouded universe. A thought or ten drifted through my mind, more words, always more words to be written, but now could not be the time, here in this place of rest, they would wait, perhaps returning, perhaps not.

I eased my imagination into the place on the shelf where I keep such things, pens, a book, things perpetually waiting to be grabbed on the go, I did not need it here, for here the dreams slip in and take over the asylum, I had given it the key so long ago, it was welcome as it always was. I saw an image before drifting away, or in the moment when being comfortably settled and already in dream/wake mode, a bright beaming light streams through, knowing it was of course the motion sensor but that didn’t stop thoughts from thinking other things. Most likely the cat, stalking poor helpless vermin in the night but I like to think it was more like a moment in a play. The darkness settles as the watchers sit and wait for the excitement to come. A bright light shines as the curtain opens and the actors begin to work their magic. Or perhaps it was like a light on an evening ocean, streaming through to give a moment of beauty, and if captured, than all the better to share with the world.  But no, this light was just the jolt that came alive and set the mind to more stirring. Always more stirring….So in hindsight, perhaps I should have walked to the shelf, grabbed the pen and the imagination and set forth on yet another incredible journey. A tale to regal the masses with, or perhaps just a little thought to bore them senseless. Perhaps tonight I shall get another chance. To take a different path, to go forth into the wild darkness and create the masterpiece…until then I will have to wait and see what will happen beneath the splendor. Stay tuned, I know I will let you know.

4 thoughts on “Beneath the splendor

  1. I know that feeling well. There is so much to say about some brief moment and it is like a magic sunset that is gone when you go inside to get the camera.

    Like

  2. I’ve been attempting to figure more out with the new computer today….and catching up on about a hundred blog posts to read…..been a bit neglectful….I came up with some amazing stuff last night….of course upon waking, forgot them all….sigh….from now on I may just get my butt up and write some notes…..how are you today? Was thinking of you as I do,quite often…healing thoughts all during my waking hours my friend. I’m glad you liked this, that makes me happy. Peace and joy….are you going to get a post out? I’ve been waiting too….
    Always in patience,
    Kim

    Liked by 1 person

Your words are stars and I humbly thank you for shining your light for me....

