Innocence

Whose child is this,

perhaps a mermaid gift from the depths

on this tranquil shore tossed forward,

with a quiet smile she moves easily,

effortlessly across the waves

alone and bobbing around

as the sun quietly settles down upon her shoulders

locked in her own world

aware of only herself and the sea.

A beautiful moment to behold,

I reflect back to years gone by,

when I too was in the center of the wave

moving, rocking like a dolphin carefree

before life-like waves came in to crash down

covering the now aware self

into something other than the bliss of the here and now,

changing the innocence of play

into the fight for a place to fit in,

a mer-child forgetting for a while how to swim,

how to be carefree

how all that mattered was just love and peace

as the tides move in and out

I had forgotten how to float.

This child is me,

and I am her,

united in our worlds unknown to each other

yet together in spirit

free and moving

towards the beginning of night

touched like the sun resting lightly down in to the sea

together in spirit

of this beautiful life.

I know not who the child is, having watched her play alone with such abandon and joy down at the Venice Jetty, had to capture it to share. A beautiful child of peace and happiness.

 

20 thoughts on “Innocence

  1. Thanks Tre,
    The first sunset I ventured out since moving here, sister and her kids in tow, a fine sight and he little girl in the water, priceless. Hope your day off went well for you😊

    Liked by 1 person

  2. She looks like she’s having a good time too! This is peaceful and serene and done only the way you can do it. Nice. Very nice.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Welcome back Sue and thank you for your amazing compliments. You always make me smile. We must be soul sisters across the universe, able to experience understanding and joy at deep levels. I’m glad you dove into the feeling of my words,
    Peace and love Sue,
    Kim

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thanks Sheldon,
    She was such a carefree happy water baby…parents up on shore sitting, talking, and barely paying attention, but she seemed content just doing her mermaid thing😊🐬 thanks so much my friend, peace and innocence, Always, Kim

    Like

  5. You are still keeping my mind spinning with your amazing poetry.

    “I reflect back to years gone by,

    when I too was in the center of the wave

    moving, rocking like a dolphin carefree

    before life-like waves came in to crash down

    covering the now aware self

    into something other than the bliss of the here and now,

    changing the innocence of play

    into the fight for a place to fit in,

    a mer-child forgetting for a while how to swim,

    how to be carefree

    how all that mattered was just love and peace

    as the tides move in and out

    I had forgotten how to float.”

    When I read this I feel as though I am an inner part of you experiencing it. How do you do that? This really is beautiful. I’m so glad I am back now so I can read more of your superb writing. Thank you so much for the experience!

    Liked by 1 person

Your words are stars and I humbly thank you for shining your light for me....

