Night Moves

She stood there in the fading orange yellow light

turquoise bikini in a setting summer field

dressed in water as she watched

the young man watch her,

that certain age when a girl knows

she’s working on the moves to capture

the joy of a young mans mind and soul

as she ducks under before surfacing

to seek his eye once more.

I had been there once so very long ago,

yet not as practiced in my shy girl routine

which was ingrained and boys

were merely a passing thought out of reach.

She smiles and looks away as the yellow slips lower

and the crowd on the jetty

seemingly like camels in a desert background

stand and look the other way at the show

while a young girl turns and walks beyond the waves

to the waiting shore beyond

without a backward glance

grabbing a towel around her slender growing frame

and disappears into the night

moving without a sound

as he watches her slip between trees

vanishing beyond view

and the sun too bids adieu

to the critics who gave a glowing review

of the now ended show

and perhaps a boy now dreams this night

of a pretty blue two pieced girl with long brown hair

and curves that work the night moves

into a memory.

14 thoughts on “Night Moves

  1. not me…it was her…..I just remembered once upon a time….a very LONG time ago, exuding the same appeal. It was a refreshing reminder of feeling alive and beautiful 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks Tre,
    The night of the sunset and the a different girl of the waves…lots of fodder to write about down here, just got to get out more often and experience it all I s’pose 😊 glad I did, it was a gorgeous night☀️

    Like

  3. You always have the best pictures. I guess one would have to, especially with these lines:

    “dressed in water as she watched

    the young man watch her,

    that certain age when a girl knows

    she’s working on the moves to capture

    the joy of a young mans mind and soul

    as she ducks under before surfacing

    to seek his eye once more.”

    So beautiful, Kim. So, so beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thanks Sue, a young girl gaining curves and attention…I was young once….but she was pretty young….but I hope he slept well with a mind filled with pretty girl dreams😊

    Liked by 1 person

  5. She was a brown haired beauty and I was down there with my nephews…one a senior….I know who she was watching…it was fun…should I change it! The blue two piece (bikini) as she wasn’t a blue girl at all…working a young girls magic on young boys…although I think she was maybe fifteen at best.

    Liked by 1 person

Your words are stars and I humbly thank you for shining your light for me....

