I’d like to….

“I’d like to see the world for once
All standing hand in hand
And hear them echo through the hills
For peace throughout the land”

I remember when I was a child, seeing a Coca-Cola commercial, thinking back now it may have been Christmas time when I saw it, and this song began with one voice, joined by another and then another….I’d like to teach the world to sing. It brought tears to my eyes as a child and I heard it on the radio a few days ago and again, the waterworks began. Such a simple song, truly but what it means in this day and age, means so much more now than ever. I’ve been wracked lately, overwhelmed by social media, of the attrocities happening around the world and it tears my soul up. Brutality against man and beast just leaves me tired and drained, oft times feeling as if one person can’t make much of a difference. But my friend Tre has been teaching me through her words about focus, strength, faith and I find it soothing to know I’m not alone in my feelings. This universe is crumbling at its core and so many feel helpless. I’ve been installing new and improved filters in my life, I have to be whole, strong and use my voice to uplift, not tear down. I need to let those tears flow and not bottle them up, to speak out where I see a wrong and to be a human of love. I’ve been tuning out alot of the negativity for self preservation. I need to be a better person by learning more about others, knowing I may not be in their shoes but that I can stand beside and at least try, to be a friend, to love all without fear and worry. Perhaps it may not be enough, but perhaps it could be a start for new friendships in this life based on empathy and knowledge and pure love. I’d like to teach the world to sing, and I’m learning the words first so that I can sing out loud and proud. Violence and torture must stop, in the history of man, it has never solved anything, only begetting more of the same, but love, now there’s somethhing we need more of, always. The best part about Love? It’s FREE! Te best gift to give and it comes with an endless supply too. I found this image on the internet the other day and I absolutely adore it. A beautiful creation by a beautiful soul💜
Peace, love and above all, shine your light and sing.

25 thoughts on “I’d like to….

  1. Hi InfiniteZip. I so agree with you the Olympics shows that we do get on and there is unity. But the mega rich hold the power and control and that is the problem! Thank you for liking my poem ‘ Premonition!’ Peace and Best Wishes The Foureyed Poet

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lovely image and sentiment. I too get drained and feel helpless when humankind seems bent on destruction, but I know (for a fact) that small voices banded together make an awfully loud roar. Speaking and acting with kindness and compassion every day will overpower those of hate and fear. Giving up just isn’t an option. Great post. ❤

    Like

  3. A very good song too, yes, to have a world where there was no fear, only love and joy and beauty,
    I close my eyes and imagine,
    Ah,
    What a beautiful thing indeed.
    Peace and love,
    Kim

    Like

  4. Me too, like a lot of the sixties and seventies….even some I’d rather not mention, it would blow my Image (she laughs while singing Mr. Mannilow) haha….

    Like

  5. I’ve been sucking dust too Kim
    I’m actually sitting here in silence
    Because I’m tired of listening to the box
    Just once I would to go outside and not have to look booth ways
    Before I proceed
    I used to like that song” we are the world”
    signed Peace of Mind

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Sometimes you have to stand up for what’s right regardless…yes, they did but hopefully this time will go a bit smoother at some point I would hope 🙂

    Like

  7. Whatever we focus on, grows, so I am determined to keep my attention on the good that there is in this world. I will not give my energy over to the negative. Peace and blessings!

    Like

  8. Bravo! I love your big wonderful heart. I remember that song and I love it too. In fact, it is now stuck in my head, which is a great thing. Love does, I believe, cure all ills. The more people who think that way, the better.

    Like

  9. Yep, get her butt into that kayak and paddle into a beautiful sunset. Come home to a nice glass of Beaujolais, curl up with a good book under an even better hubby and chill for a bit. Enjoy!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Great commercial. I think still holds Most Popular record. Sounds like you need a News Farst, we all do
    Unplug for a few. Does wonders. Peace

    Liked by 1 person

Your words are stars and I humbly thank you for shining your light for me....

