She shone in glitter

I never like my smile. It’s not a bad smile, it’s just not one of those award-winning ones that you see everyone else possess. But I have been coming to conclusions recently, taking time to do what is necessary for me, time to ponder the deeper things in life that matter. This image was taken on our anniversary coming out of the restaurant where we had our wedding dinner. It was snowing, which for Western New York in February is not a rare occurrence at all and now that I live where it seems to be hot and sunny every day, I know that images like these will now also be a rare occurrence. I had my picture taken today sitting next to Santa Claus.

100_1784.jpg

The town I reside in was doing a Christmas in July thing today and tomorrow and I found him sans red shirt cooling down holding his bucket of candy canes (and showing his tattoos…who knew?). I smiled and had so much fun just talking with these “transplants” from Wisconsin (Santa and Mrs C) and I felt wonderful just being amongst these people, not caring if I took a good pic or not. Hubby took the pic of course as I’m obviously not a fan of selfies…When we got home I perused the images on the card and downloaded a few and thought, what the hell, why not. I like this picture. It is a reminder of happy days, not that I don’t have a lot of happy days but to see my smile, well, it made me smile. I felt glittery there, almost and if not as good as I felt today. Why the change? I think it’s perspective. To stop caring what others may think, to start doing what I choose to do and not what is expected. I feel as if lately a load has been lifted off of me and it feels amazing. Oh, and I was a mermaid too today.

100_1786.jpg

Darn, that was just too fun. Now you won’t catch me posting these on FB as I refuse to be one of “those” people, but here at WP where my friends are just so caring and loving, I thought I would present myself to you. (Get it, present? Christmas in July) okay, enough. I think what I really want to say is I don’t want to go out of this world ever worrying about what I should have done, what I would do differently. So damn people, I choose to be a mermaid, a Christmas kid at heart and a girl who shines like glitter. And I’m not sorry…perhaps a poem tomorrow but for today, lots of me, me wonderful me….God I’m having fun. Join me, won’t you? Let’s see your happy post of your award-winning smiles and fun caught on film. Trust me, you won’t be sorry (at least I hope not) plus you know I’m gonna like it of course. Because you are beautiful! Yeah, lets spread more of that now okay? Post a link in the comments with your favorite selfie….I dare you, I double dog dare you! I’ll be waiting.

44 thoughts on “She shone in glitter

  1. Ouch, an expensive and sometimes painful thing indeed. I did the same, just on popcorn, I still eat popcorn but just slower and carefully. The bread down here isn’t the same as the bread up North, but in a week I can go back up and visit. Pizza first on the food list๐Ÿ˜Š food is good๐Ÿ˜Š

    Liked by 1 person

  2. News Flash! On of those crowns broke off today.
    I make my own beef on weck by slow roasting in a crockpot, then thin slicing it. The problem is… no one here in the Midwest knows what Kimmelweck is, so for three years I made do with Kaiser rolls. In Buffalo, a few months ago, a lady in the Tops Bakery sold me a mix of caraway seeds and sea salt to sprinkle on Kaiser rolls (I dampen them then broil for a minute).
    Today, one of those seeds got between the edge of my bottom tooth and the back of my crown as I bit down. With that little extra leverage, the crown post broke clean through and I have to find a dentist to drill for a new post.
    I still love beef on weck, but I may go back to plain Kaiser rolls!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh golly, now my smile got bigger and I know what I’ll be doing tomorrow cloistered in the blue room loving my Tre voice. You are a master my friend and your voice is perfect, you’ve got the whole thing down to a T. Looking forward to learning from the master when you brave the FLA warmth next Spring and we go painting towns….hi J Monster….she’s probably sleeping off that second walk…yay, now I’m just all keyed up and excited….like a Christmas present in July. You are a gift to my life indeed๐Ÿ’œ

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thank you my friend, it took me years to enjoy it…still getting used to it…baby steps…but smiling through it all. Peace love and smiling days to you, love your blog BTW…..enjoy my visits there. Finally got caught up today๐Ÿ˜Š it’s of good things…always, Kim

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Thank you my friend, it was quite vibrant and alarmed me for quite a bit, told myself to get over it and just enjoy. Things a girl does on a Friday afternoon, and I’m glad you enjoyed. Peace, love and smiles, Kim๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ’œ

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I loved your post, and I can go to sleep smiling tonight like a happy lunatic…you’ve made my day. Here’s to beautiful smiles igniting the world with joy๐Ÿ’œ๐Ÿ˜Š

    Liked by 1 person

  7. To always be present, that in itself is a gift๐Ÿ˜Š thanks Tikeetha, smiling for the world…just because. Have an amazing weekend๐Ÿ˜Š

    Like

  8. Thanks Andrew, I had been, now I’m learning to just let go, smile and glitter like my rock star goddess self….thank you, now I think I’m smiling bigger and my lips are gonna crack by tomorrow ๐Ÿ˜†

    Liked by 1 person

  9. And you are a beautiful soul Alexis, I appreciate his comment and you too….smiles are often so few and far between, glad I’m finding mine these days finally. Letting go and letting it shine on๐Ÿ˜† such peace, and childish exuberance, happy Friday beautiful!๐Ÿ˜Š

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Hey babe, I didn’t paint her, I just became her๐Ÿ˜† if only for a few moments on the baking pavement….wondering where the Dolphins and water was…..and Neptune of course๐Ÿ˜†

    Liked by 1 person

  11. As you do for me my beautiful friend,
    Smiles upon smiles
    And a joy to just be, myself
    Happy
    Smiling
    Loved
    You’ve taught me focus
    And it is an amazing thing.
    Peace and love Tre,
    Always
    Auntie K๐Ÿ˜†

    Liked by 1 person

  12. I like connect the dots,
    I can close my eyes and see your inner Sheldon,
    And I know you’re smiling
    And for me,
    That is a gift in itself my friend
    Beautiful as always,
    K

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Yeah, that’s where I was coming from, feeling such overwhelming joy and showing it. I thought about changing my gravitar…that’s what started it all, felt like I was hiding behind the dog house…Snoopy, but seeing and feeling such joy, said what have you got to lose, set it free and man, does it feel amazing to just be. All part of the bigger plan in growing and accepting, a blessed thing indeed. Peace and smiles, Kim๐Ÿ˜†

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Thanks Ken, I’m learning as I grow older to appreciate my gifts, that’s what this is all about, I think many people hide their light, I’m shining mine today…just being me and smiling๐Ÿ˜€ and your daughter being gifted with your smile, well, that just makes me smile even bigger๐Ÿ˜€ peace and laughter and smiles for everyone!๐Ÿ˜†

    Liked by 1 person

  15. You have a nice smile.
    When I was nine years old, I fell flat on my face and broke both front teeth, so that the gap was an inverted V. Any pictures of me from then until I had the teeth replaced with caps (crowns) when I was thirteen are of a boy with a big grin – except with lips sealed tight.
    These days, people tell me my daughter has my smile. I guess I can see it, but she must shave more often than I do. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  16. You’re beautiful! I dk why we get such negative self images. I’ve decided if I feel lit up, I should share it! As I get older it’s about spreading the joy. Self image is way in the background lately. Glad it is for you too!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  17. I was in Rhinebeck New York a very long time ago
    it was beautiful there in the winter
    You have a beautiful smile
    But you’re not getting me tonight
    Just my words
    Should be enough to connect the dots
    As always Sheldon

    Liked by 1 person

  18. I love your scales as well. They match your pearly whites, in shape if not color!!! I hate my smile and especially my thin lips, but in honor of your breakthrough, I promise a selfie.

    Liked by 1 person

Your words are stars and I humbly thank you for shining your light for me....

