Precipice

I stood there on the edge of the mountain

wind pushing against my body and soul

my feet gripping the line where eternity begins

and earth ends, like sharp talons grasping

as I fell forward into the cushion of air

the invisible barrier holding me as I peered below

like an eagle ready to take flight

no hesitation, just awe at the image of forever

as I flew without leaving the ground.

The fingers of clouds held me still

as the sweet breath of the wind whispered into my soul

and there was no fear of death

no thoughts of what stood behind me

beyondΒ the edge for I had become

a feathered machine turning my head

seeing the impossible in every degree

and I flew in the dream into tomorrow

with words hanging like butterflies

gently landing on my shoulder

knowing not to touch for fear of breaking

the fragile wings that moved back and forth

before taking flight

into the unknown.

The buoyant mind soaring on the current of thought

drifting down into the depths of sleep,

alive and the memory of the dream

never skipping a beat upon waking

refreshed from my flight into the universe.

I’ve changed up my blog a little bit as you can see, so please let me know if you like the new theme and layout, what works for you and what doesn’t. I think it suits me but time will tell, as we are constantly evolving creatures and sometimes changing it up a bit charges up the old soul. Peace and love and no, I’m not jumping off of mountains….just a cool dream I had last night where I fell into forever but was held up by the wind, I just love dreams like that. So exhilarating.

30 thoughts on “Precipice

  1. Hi InfiniteZip. Site is Great Your writing as always Brilliant. Love your poem. So nice to hear from you. Thank you so much for liking my poems “Old Canal Bank! Through The Mist! Politicians Officers And War! and Empty Space!” Be Safe and well The Foureyed Poet.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Will do. I odn’t know if I will be able to post anything. Normally i barely have time to answers mails and comments on time. i do try to though. And after a few days in Paris (and yet another murder in a small town) i am determined to go everywhere as I please. And iwill keep contact with my friends… Save me some shark teeth. Might come in handy. Hug.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks so much for the feedback, it seems to be liked by the majority who’ve stopped to see it so it shall stay 😊 and flying dreams are always so cool, I wasn’t as lucky last night to have one though😊 peace and blessings, Kim

    Liked by 1 person

  4. It will be a scorcher. I have so much to do today, but I’ll get it done. Please stay cool. I’m surely going to try. I don’t watch much television, but I do enjoy a bit of it during the weekend. πŸ™‚ Embrace your new luxury. Lol!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. most likely another hot one for you too there? Seems hot everywhere…getting acclimated to it thought. Still have to listen to your beautiful voice, read the poem which in itself is a glorious thing and can’t wait to hear you speak it. Long day yesterday, cable guy here installing Direct TV, five months with an antennae just wasn’t cutting it. At least we can get CBS now πŸ™‚ priceless indeed. Peace love and happy Sunny Sunday and high five paw to Jernee πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  6. The only thing that matters is that it makes you happy, thus, I’m happy. I’m going to get up, take Jernee for a little walk, go and get some Starbucks, come back home to cook breakfast, then do a ton of reading before running errands. It’s going to be a busy Sunday for me. big hugs

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Thanks Kat, I’m glad you liked it. It’s growing on me so I think it will stick for awhile. Your chimes were ringing yesterday, always makes me smile. Mermaids rock, and I had fun πŸ™‚ peace, love and happy Sunday my muse πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Thanks Tre, then in reader you don’t have to deal with my purple πŸ™‚ haha, someday I will convert you over to the “purple side”. Happy Sunday love and I’m glad you liked this. Having a wave of peace moving through lately. ❀

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Thanks Sheldon,
    It was a very cool dream and I’m glad I remembered it for the most part intact. It was the coolest sensation, almost like free flying but being held up on the edge by the air, yet feeling like you’re flying. Way cool indeed πŸ™‚ Peace, love and good morning. K

    Like

  10. It’s amazing that you posted this John as it is one of my all time favorite songs, had never seen the video for it (I don’t spend much time on YouTube) but this brought such a smile to my face and I’m happy to see you here. Read your post earlier before I left for my morning walk and now going back to catch up and comment, etc….Happy Sunday, although not sure if it’s already Monday there…it may be…so Happy Monday too πŸ™‚ Peace and mad worlds πŸ™‚ Kim ❀

    Liked by 1 person

  11. I always read items in Reader format, but I did go to your site to view your layout. Purple words for you as that is one of your favorite colors. I am not a big fan of purple (as you know), but this suits you well. It’s soft, sweet, peaceful, and welcoming.

    Also, so are these lines:

    “beyond the edge for I had become

    a feathered machine turning my head

    seeing the impossible in every degree

    and I flew in the dream into tomorrow

    with words hanging like butterflies

    gently landing on my shoulder

    knowing not to touch for fear of breaking

    the fragile wings that moved back and forth

    before taking flight

    into the unknown.

    The buoyant mind soaring on the current of thought

    drifting down into the depths of sleep,

    alive and the memory of the dream”

    You’re amazing, Kim!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Be safe Brian, will keep you in my thoughts and prayers, I’m sure it will be tough but you love it there and I know you’ll enjoy…how long you gone for? Glad you like the new layout, loved the pic too, Internet find but suits me I thinkπŸ’œ peace, love and safe travels. Always, Kim…and eat some croissants for me too please😊

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Hi Kim. Like the words and lay out. There are lots of interpretations of flying in dreams…
    The header photo is cool.
    Be good.
    Flying to Paris tomorrow night. Wonder how I will find my poor country…

    Liked by 1 person

Your words are stars and I humbly thank you for shining your light for me....

