Dreaming in voices

Lightning in the midnight hour

Accompanied by silence

and I wait on the rain to follow

Yet hear nothing but the sound of your voice.

Whispered hymn like a lullaby 

Changes through the years from teen to now

As I move from shadows into the light

Illuminated song on my lips.

You are everywhere I turn now,

Time not quelling the memory,

But as each moment passes I feel the touch,

The hint of soft laughter

And I fall back into the warmth

Of yesterday once more.

There is no witness here

As I stand in the hour when the world sleeps,

I sway to the rhythm of the wind that stirs

And you are here

Gentle like a petal,

As soft as a dream remembered.

There is no rain yet

And the world turns dark

Lightning passes like a train on its way

And an engine moves past down the highway

The rattle of pipes disappears

And I turn and slip within.

16 thoughts on “Dreaming in voices

  1. Funny you ask…feeling a bit weary with the length of this recovery period (?). I have three doctor appointments coming up–jaw, heart, integrative medicine. I’m excited about the third appointment. Hoping for more insight into how I can care for my body right now. The weariness comes and goes–today it came. Lucy is doing just great, by the way! My closest ally day and night. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks Tre, that means a lot to me. I added that after I thought I was done….dreams of motorcycles and purple rain vivid images for me lately….vroom vroomπŸ˜ŠπŸ’œ I know….not a fan of purple😊

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Such vivid imagery all throughout this, but this ending… You did a great job here, Kim!

    “I sway to the rhythm of the wind that stirs

    And you are here

    Gentle like a petal,

    As soft as a dream remembered.

    There is no rain yet

    And the world turns dark

    Lightning passes like a train on its way

    And an engine moves past down the highway

    The rattle of pipes disappears

    And I turn and slip within.”

    Liked by 1 person

  4. The purple one has been invading my thoughts constantly….and woke me third night in a row playing in my mind….last night with the Lightning…..no thunder but beautiful. Thanks Michael….

    Liked by 1 person

Your words are stars and I humbly thank you for shining your light for me....

