The hands that hold life

These hands of peace,

they hold the errors of our ways

with lessons taught and life now gone,

what had been unseen

unknown,

left in the mind as a lesson learned

these hands that hold life

as I seek, they give forgiveness.

The moments of time etched in lines and creases

of many miles moved on the journey

from here to there

all the same but different parts

of a whole,

from oceans deep to woods thick with wonder,

to know and carry memory

invisible yet still there

in  our existence we hold on to the many

yet let go of the few,

these hands that hold life

beneath the morning awakening

remind me once more

that it is okay to ask and receive

the blessings of sorrow and joy,

the peace to get through each coming day.

100_1852.jpg

This is our buddha who graces us as we leave and enter each time we pass the portal of home. You will see him holding two nearly identical shells, found together in the ocean side by side as if companions. Now when I brought them home, I had checked of course for occupants, but after soap, pine sol lavender soak, simple green and ultimately bleach, I come to find out one of course had a small creature within. Not able to stomach the scent, I have asked for forgiveness and re-homed them to the waiting hands of our friend. He will guide their soul on their journey and I again, feel peace within.

17 thoughts on “The hands that hold life

  1. Thanks, found on the internet but down here, it could be any given day on the gulf…..how goes it…..my teams losing….sigh….you can smile now😊🏉

    Like

  2. I once read a quote that said, “You are forgiven before you commit the transgression.” I think that is apt.
    I have a small buddha that greets visitors at my front door, too. He holds a small quartz stone. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  3. For me they symbolize the fact that just because I can’t see something, doesn’t mean that it isn’t there. I searched them too before I took them home…I felt so bad…..at least with the sharks teeth, I know they’ve been floating about for thousands of years…I don’t usually bring home shells but it was so cool to find two right next to each other completely intact…most of the shells down here are broken or ugly, these glistened in the water as if they were waiting for me. hubby said it was probably already dead and that someone probably brought them back due to the smell….nice thinking, but I still had to ask forgiveness. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. You are just PEACE magnified. And, I am so grateful for you.

    This:

    “to know and carry memory

    invisible yet still there

    in  our existence we hold on to the many

    yet let go of the few,

    these hands that hold life

    beneath the morning awakening

    remind me once more

    that it is okay to ask and receive

    the blessings of sorrow and joy,”

    Delightfully pleasing, Kim.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I felt bad about the little sea creature…but asked and received forgiveness and will have them now as a visual reminder that just because I can’t see it, doesn’t mean it isn’t there 🙂 peace and blessings, Kim

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Yeah, the bleach is not a good thing. There are small monuments strewn throughout the forests and mountains of Asia. They keep themselves clean. I forgive you.😁
    What do the shells symbolize for you?

    Liked by 2 people

Your words are stars and I humbly thank you for shining your light for me....

