Spirit

Do we measure our thoughts like spices

a little of this and a little of that

ground together to make new seasoning

new patterns of a shifting universe.

If I were to deconstruct Van Gogh to create an image

of where my thoughts reside,

would they resemble a cosmic eye watching

as the world transpires

moving round and round

in its usual way-effortless and without thought

just being.

I gather the things that make me smile

tucking them away in the star-dust cobwebs,

pilfering them away like a thief

for I know when I need it most

I will lift the lid and peer within

searching for that special something,

a sound, a scent or perhaps a memory of a faded dream.

As the incense burns out before barely beginning

the jasmine fills rooms of blue

silky smoke just enough to linger for me,

not enough to choke

and I am there again

yesterday when art and words and soothing days

eased by like a silent movie

and I watched in rapt attention wondering

where did those days go?

I swirl here in these thoughts

Starry night broken apart and reformed

into a new quiet peace

that finds me grateful

for its essence.

 

 

 

 

 

 

23 thoughts on “Spirit

  1. One of my all time favorite songs….that’s how I found VanGogh when I was young, through that song…a Huge influence on my life, song and artist both…you’ve given me the biggest before bed smile John…just as good as Mad World….๐Ÿ’œ๐Ÿ’•๐Ÿ’œ๐Ÿ’•๐Ÿ˜Š

    Like

  2. Thank you, I was so nervous and the job opening isn’t right away, but just the fact I was interviewed, that was the best part, like a door finally opening, as once it opens amazing things will happen, it may not materialize but I feel so much better getting a try by someone to interview๐Ÿ˜Š

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Yes, it is. I’ve been going through the yearly cutting and stacking of firewood. It is the only way to heat this old house. I am so happy I was able to grab a moment and catch some of your poetry. You are still amazing. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thank you Sue, you’ve been missed…chasing bears in the meadow I hope? Fishing for salmon in cold mountain streams? I hope all is well and peaceful with you? Peace and blessings…come back soon…miss your words and ghostly stories too….it is that season๐Ÿ‘ป๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ’œ

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Kim, this feels warm and familiar, a meditation finding ones soul in the midst of all humanity, in a comfortable setting where no human or other intrusion could ever lure you away. I love this one more than I know how to describe.

    Like

  6. Thank you so much, I am still trying to paste the link to the artist, I love it and the words came to it so nicely, I adore effortless poems๐Ÿ˜Š K

    Like

  7. This is just beautiful, Kim. Such a serenity here that pulls me in and I rested for just a while. It is intensely powerful. Good standalone poem, needs nothing else.

    Like

Your words are stars and I humbly thank you for shining your light for me....

