Edge of elegance

Eyes closed as we slip into the depths,

blue green water soothing the soul

almost washing the mind of thought

on the edge of elegance

we become beautiful.

Steps taken carefully as the winds blows,

we move awkwardly against the precipice

afraid yet exhilarated by the future,

and we put it out there,

the words rarely spoken aloud

through gentle laughter and quiet breath,

we feel the peace come to settle within.

These places always fascinate the greedy mind,

that only longs to be somewhere in awe,

visually pleasing and we reach out small fingers

reaching for the attainable

and gather the drops and watch as they fall slowly

glistening in the noon day sun

as we lose ourselves for stretches of time

just being in the moment,

we have become human sundials,

marking time against our frames and the shadows that falls

longer and leaner as the day passes in nonchalant busyness.

Shivering we emerge as dusk falls

and we become silhouettes of ourselves

reflected on mirrored water,

we stand still awaiting the end of the ripples

and in the quiet and beauty of this

we know that it will never be forgotten.

10 thoughts on “Edge of elegance

  1. Thanks D, so glad you enjoyed it….the latest couple came from just writing off the top of my mind as I looked at the image….always a good prompt, a good photo 🙂 thanks so much. K ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Aww. Thank you. I’ll give her your love. I know about getting it out or going crazy. I am hoping Monday will be happy.

    Like

  3. My head makes me do it….lest I go crazy😊 but it’s a good thing, I just always wonder at the time when hitting that publish thingy…they’re gonna think I’m loopy….what is she thinking, etc…..it’s good to have friends, artists who understand the little voices that won’t be silenced😊💕 you are my gem sweet Tre💎, thank you and happy Monday, is it still cool for you?🍃🍁🍂 I hope so. Hey little monster, hugs to you🐾🐾

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thanks Tre,
    Having a difficult time lately writing, things are just being drawn into my peripheral outskirts begging to be written….I’m often stopping mid stream, so unlike me, wondering where the heck these things are going….but relaxing and going with the flow and finishing….I suppose it must be a good thing, even if it doesn’t make much sense to me all the time….the creative flow unforced….drifting like an endless stream….just so much going on in my head, I think sometimes these things just work their way out, I know it calms me, which is a good thing. Thank you for always being so supportive, it gives me balance to know that this writing Is worthwhile, and I embrace each piece given to my mind to tell, kind of like stories unearthed😊peace and blessings and have a good Monday too my friend. 💕

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Kim, this is simply brilliant! Especially here:

    “just being in the moment,

    we have become human sundials,

    marking time against our frames and the shadows that falls

    longer and leaner as the day passes in nonchalant busyness.

    Shivering we emerge as dusk falls

    and we become silhouettes of ourselves”

    Weaver of words, you are.

    Liked by 1 person

Your words are stars and I humbly thank you for shining your light for me....

