Touched

Beneath the canopy

specks of dust fly above like happy fairies

as I stare into the cover

umbrella of green over my head

as  blue skies dappled with clouds

waltz by like a meandering hobo,

no intention

except to move along

to the next destination.

Drops fall into my being

sticky amber fluid scented with pine

so different from the sol used to clean

I wipe into the tacky lotion

anointed by nature

at one with this moment.

The scent of dying leaves rise to greet

as feet shuffle through piles raked by the wind,

kicking about like a child I laugh out loud

heard by the ears of the universe

and the birds that take flight from the distance

speaking to me of which path to take.

Following the sounds of trickling water

as the creek lay waiting round the curve,

places I’ve been to before come back to me here

although this is all new

it is always the same

when peace is filtered through trees

capturing my heart

soothing me with its presence.

16 thoughts on “Touched

  1. Thank you Rose, it’s a bit strange being now in Florida, my first fall without my NY maple trees and endless leaves, but we do have pines down here…and the palms of course swaying sweetly 🙂 peace and love and have an amazing day 🙂

    Like

  2. Thanks Derrick,
    Pine sap on the mind , kept sticking with me so had to get it out😊🌲 but not in a Christmas tree frame of mind….still too early for that🎄 peace and blessings and have a lovely day too 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Exactly, I left work end of February and am just now getting back into the work scene, we fixed the house up and got it all situated, but I enjoy being out talking with people so this is perfect for me😊💕

    Like

  4. Thanks Tre, I am glad I came back to it after letting it go for too long, it does give such peace sharing my visions of life around me with others, kind of a written meditation I suppose😊💕 thanks for being on my journey with me☮

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Kim, this is beautiful and serene. Especially here:

    “I wipe into the tacky lotion

    anointed by nature

    at one with this moment.

    The scent of dying leaves rise to greet

    as feet shuffle through piles raked by the wind,

    kicking about like a child I laugh out loud

    heard by the ears of the universe”

    So glad writing is your passion.

    Liked by 1 person

Your words are stars and I humbly thank you for shining your light for me....

