Ghosts dancing

We move between the words

shimmering images slipping into stories

visualizing ourselves whole again

as we feel each selection

as if it were us.

We are spun like silken threads

woven into each piece of humanity

we are no color discernable

simply apparitions of a form

filtering in as the whisper of the wind

that became one with this dance

feeling the pain of the life we had lost.

We are the dancing of ghosts

heartbeats thundering yet still unheard

it is the passage of time that haunts

the knowing that changes had become

a part of us,

as if it had caught us unaware while we stood

staring at the sun above

never knowing that as we wandered the sentences

we gained body

and could finally be seen once more

at least by the invisible crafter of stories

who must have heard

our midnight cries.

How we danced then in joy,

as we spun through rainbow-colored images

surrounded by kin of the world

and we sang the verse of a thousand worlds

as we moved into each moment,

free in our love of beauty and as we watched

the stars moved past like bullets in the night

as they tore a hole into the sky,

allowing the spirit to join,

to gather us as one,

finally giving us life once more.

Beautiful image by-Steven Fresquez -at Fine Art America

http://fineartamerica.com/profiles/steven-fresquez.html?tab=artwork

13 thoughts on “Ghosts dancing

  1. Thanks so much Michelle, so glad you enjoyed it 🙂 hope to get more poetry going, in between starting a new job and the holiday, it’s been a bit crazy. Thanks for visiting and hope to see you soon 😉

    Like

  2. Thank you Sue,
    Sometimes they just materialize, needing to be brought out to be seen, influenced by words read, they swirl and become so very alive😊💟 so glad you enjoyed the dance my friend, may we find more to dance about, shape shifting forms of pure essence😊 thank you, peace and love and footprints in the dust, Always, K

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh Kim, this is deeply breathtaking. What an awesome poem Ghost Dancing truly is. I love everything about it, but my most favorite lines are: “we are no color discernible/simply apparitions of a form/filtering in as the whisper of the wind/that became one with this dance” and, “We are the dancing of ghosts/heartbeats thundering yet still unheard/it is the passage of time that haunts/the knowing that changes had become/a part of us, as if it had caught us unaware while we stood/staring at the sun above. You are one amazing human being, and a true light. Blessings.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thanks Tre,
    Had to get back to some of my normalcy, having a calming day and just finished bathing the hounds…..peace and laughter and thank you, I’m so glad you liked it💕😊

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I read you and feel an incredible sense of calm and I love it!

    “We are the dancing of ghosts

    heartbeats thundering yet still unheard

    it is the passage of time that haunts

    the knowing that changes had become

    a part of us,

    as if it had caught us unaware while we stood

    staring at the sun above”

    Such strength your words, Kim.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. It was all three combined. I always go with the first image that comes which was ghost dancing, as if I were slipping between your words like a phantom….so I went with it and I’m glad you enjoyed 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. If it came via email, I just did a few tweaks to it, missed some editing along my path, I’m glad you enjoyed it. Was feeling inspired by my friend Michael over at the Poetry Channel. He does that to me 🙂

    Like

  8. Wow. I don’t think I had any part of something this beautiful, but I’ll take it. Happy to inspire a Poetess who so often inspires me.

    Go Bills! (and dip☺)

    Liked by 1 person

Your words are stars and I humbly thank you for shining your light for me....

