Illusion

We settled ourselves on the edge

Balanced on the abyss of illusion

We were surrounded by images spoon fed through dreams

Landscapes of beauty

We climbed up out of the darkness

Knowing the path would finally bring us

To go this way or that.

So we settled in the middle

Feeling the trepidation ease

No hurry

No rush we sang little songs we remembered,

As we wore costumes like actors in a play

Constantly changing

Forever rearranging the furniture and props to fit,

Never realizing that it was a bit of make believe

And with the blink of an eye

It could all turn around

To be our wildest desires and dreams

If only for that moment

We could truthfully believe

That the beating heart within

Knew the secret that would be told

And our spot of balance

Would teeter totter out of control

And we would ask the stars to guide us through

Our waking worlds that never could glow

In the same way as the sweetest dreams,

We burrowed under once more

Escaping into the darkness

In search of light once more.

I had a night of amazing dreams and beautiful worlds, it’s always a bit of a let down to wake to the everyday….some days I think it would be awesome just to stay there a little longer, if only to gather more observations to bring to the light of day, fodder for writing from sleep is always fun, you never know where it will take you till you get there.

14 thoughts on “Illusion

  1. I find certain dreams are good on following through, I dreamt I went to work for this company that we delivered food to, didn’t know what they did, hadn’t had plans on quitting my current job, but felt so strongly, I interviewed and ended up working there for 17 years….made great money and learned a lot, grew as a person, etc….I suppose it depends on the dream/daydream….hurt no one nor self in pursuit….๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ’•

    Liked by 1 person

  2. So true. While I don’t remember my dreams, my daydreaming makes my life worth it. It’s only when I act on it that it pains immensely. Illusion is meant to be just that – a mirage that can be seen and felt but cannot be touched.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wow so beautiful …I think I can remember a few dreams like that …yes they had lessons involved.
    Haha yes …time to get up and moving …but then what is a dream and what is waking really when we carry the impressions as expressions of ourselves in either state …

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’ve been having these really colorful and bright dreams, which at first glance seem so very dark, but the lessons involved with them, open my mind up to the light, or opposite each time…..somedays I’d love to keep them going but I get woken up by hubby it seems when I’m in the midst of them….time to get up and moving takes precedence it seems๐Ÿ˜€โ˜ฎ๐Ÿ˜Š

    Liked by 1 person

Your words are stars and I humbly thank you for shining your light for me....

