Time passage

A thought or two thousand swirl into the vortex

images from yesterday return to view unexpectedly

and I laugh as the train derails into itself

suspended between years and minutes

as a song plays somewhere within the walls

and I move about the lines of linen

observing the instance of a bird who decorates

with bathroom love on the clean sheets

I laugh and shake my head

silly universe I think I said

aloud to the cloud who lingered

curtailing the sun and its warmth

I shook it out.

James sings with his baby face and the cat who is no longer stares

and I feel the sadness for a moment at the passing

yet know I too someday shall pass that way,

and its okay as my mind carries on

its endless parade of images and songs

I sing along for a moment and change the channel

to lighter fare

wondering why I had gone there

and summer days when twelve

as the islands filled the evening with the scent

of campfires and a marriage at twelve

to the boy down the path,

wondering where he is now

and Jack and Diane had played

and life was easy and carefree

and time was just something we knew

as something to note,

to come in to sleep and eat

the rest up to us to pursue

in endless games and swimming with snakes

that slipped in cracks in the rocks.

Perhaps it was the laundry, as I traipsed about

toes uncovered I always watch for moving things

and the wind thatย blew the sheet into my face

where I saw the smudged gift

that took me back in the mind machine of time

for a small fee of a smile

and a tune in my head

that won’t quite stop.

10 thoughts on “Time passage

  1. A journey in my mind, ran across a photo of my big squishy cat who died before we moved down, a photo I had deleted years ago because it was a bit grainy….I resaved it as James Taylor was singing on the radio…..special magical moments that make life sweet, only let myself linger in the sad space for a little while…..I’m so glad you enjoyed it my friend, peace, love and good morning to you too๐Ÿ’•๐Ÿ˜Š

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I think it takes a lot of us down memory lane, along with a whole slew of other songs too๐Ÿ˜Š my mind works In strange and mysterious ways at times….always an adventure for sure๐Ÿ˜Š

    Liked by 2 people

  3. There’s so much to take in here and quote, but I The loved this bit:

    “aloud to the cloud who lingered

    curtailing the sun and its warmth

    I shook it out.

    James sings with his baby face and the cat who is no longer stares

    and I feel the sadness for a moment at the passing

    yet know I too someday shall pass that way,”

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I love those trips! You NEVER quite know where you’ll end up but the journey is so much fun.
    “Jack and Diane” could easily take me on quite a long voyage ๐Ÿ™‚
    Loved tagging along ๐Ÿ™‚
    ๐Ÿ’ž

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Oh, yes, you can have the Christmas gift but I was thinking something more large, or Giant perhaps….with songs thrown in for good measure….I can’t believe a bird pooped on my clean white sheets….bastard….ha….I did laugh, watcha gonna do, I live in a bird sanctuary…could have been worse and been a pelican or eagle….that would be a mess indeed. Thanks Michael, still playing reading catchup…12 minutes before I switch to real writing in a gift for Dad….not enough time in the day I swear โค

    Liked by 2 people

  6. As usual you have laced this with golden oldies that defy the notion of time as a linear thing. Songs that take me back in an instant, and forward too. I wonder to myself if I have that one on my mp3 player. I haven’t listened to it in a while and plan to.
    And I recall the clothesline and times when it was okay to run around barefoot.
    Good piece, well crafted, Kimberly.
    I will accept this as my Christmas gift from you.
    Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year’s to you and your loved ones, teo-legged and four, warm in the Sunshine state and frozen in West NY.
    Peace.

    Liked by 2 people

Your words are stars and I humbly thank you for shining your light for me....

