Anywhere but….

Aren’t they just soooo cute? They were the only ones that weren’t camera shy. On our kayak quest through the breezy waters of the Mayakka River today. The other turtles had three on the stump but they saw this crazed woman in a big straw hat heading their way and decided they didn’t want to be soup….not that I would EVER think to do that to such a cute creature. Then you see the rigid hump in the water not once but twice as something was high tailing it a few feet from the kayak. And what to my wondering eyes do appear but this……argh….stop the presses, there’s no place like home, swim shoes tapping away but to no avail but I did manage to get this most fun pic of the hubby cruising towards the mean reptile on the log….who did jump off so I think I’d prefer him to be where I can see him, please and thank you. Fun in Florida! There’s gators in that there water Captain!

fullsizeoutput_45b.jpeg

10 thoughts on “Anywhere but….

  1. Happy New Year Brian, a little too close I might add…..dark murky water, God only knows what’s lurking below the boat….like a four footed Jaws๐ŸŠ๐Ÿ˜ซ

    Like

  2. Love this! Lady J told me that sea turtles can’t retract into their shells like land turtles do.
    Amazing the things that animal lovers know!
    I think I would have freaked out to be in the general vicinity of any gator!!!
    Thanks for giving us a peek into your world ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  3. ha, they scurried into the water quite quickly except for those two….perhaps they didn’t wish to be dinner for the gators swimming around….a bit too close for comfort. I prefer them from high on a bridge where I can peer down at them, not to be like a carrot floating in their own personal soup bowl ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

Your words are stars and I humbly thank you for shining your light for me....

