Moonstruck

I am always amazed by the simple things

the serendipitous moments that find me

like the sweetest blessings,

like words from afar just because

or standing strong in the face of fear

and realizing what looked so large

was something more like a speck of nothing,

the way I can laugh then

wondering if it is the moon

taunting and toying with me-

cat and mouse

in a game where there are only winners

and the pain and tiredness slips under the sheets

like the magician

here then poof “gone”.

What are these, quiet moments below the glow above

as it watches me

gracing my shadow with its presence

creating the length where I pounce upon the darkness

like a modern-day superhero

and it jumps too, where I cannot win this game

in this way

yet if I go below where it doesn’t see

and can’t capture me in silhouette

I make my own shadows with fingers

like when I was young,

and I know as I write this

I feel at times like a pleasantly surprised 5-year-old,

often amazed by the simple little miracle like things

surrounding me,

changing the perspective to not fear the darkness,

but to create my own whimsy characters in light-

because I believe I can

I make it happen

like magic,

I smile and wave goodnight

to sweet Luna who will continue its watch

upon this soul who knows

it’s all magical

and it’s all good.

7 thoughts on “Moonstruck

  1. sometimes at inappropriate times too, ha, joking of course, I was singing at work all yesterday, kept laughing at myself, 80’s music too. Not sure why but embraced it 🙂 peace and blessings Derrick

    Like

  2. I almost didn’t get a post out, couldn’t go to bed and feel right without doing one and the moon has been so very lovely and playful these past few days 🙂 honoring it all ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  3. “It’s all magical
    And, it’s all good.”

    Lovely reminder that peace is of the essence and that the moon is the ultimate bringer of it. Solid, so nicely done, Kim.

    Liked by 1 person

Your words are stars and I humbly thank you for shining your light for me....

