Yellow

I needed to be yellow,

caught in the place between sun and flowers

where the butterflies flit lightly

and care is just a word whispered on air.

I needed to be saffron,

scented addition of things beyond reach,

gathered together like something beautiful

filling the air with want and hunger.

I needed to be the point

where all things meet like sharp petals

reaching into the sky for nourishment,

soaking in the warmth of a new day.

I was dancing in fields of time

nothing meant anything

just the here and now and the reaching,

the endless stretch towards the sky

where I longed to fly like the yellow bird

that returns after the harsh ice of winter abates

and the feeder waiting like a gift

to abate the hunger built

by the endless search

for fulfillment in the movement

from there to here,

returning once more to land

where I began.

Image-Fields of Innocence -Sargam Griffin

12 thoughts on “Yellow

  1. I never gave yellow much thought on the favorite spectrum of shades, until I had cancer and was given a daffodil pin and told yellow was the color of hope. Since then, it is a primary staple for me, sunny and happy and dancing daffodils ❤ Thank you Robin ❤

    Like

  2. I love the golden buttery yellow color and how it brightens our lives! I would enjoy seeing birds, butterflies and flowers in this color. I once had a yellow dress and it made me feel joyful. 🙂 Hope you have a happy weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

Your words are stars and I humbly thank you for shining your light for me....

