Joy in being

There is in that tiny fragment of a moment

as we become conscious of our thought,

the name for that little emotion that slips through

becoming known as we are aware,

and the feeling as it floods the soul with the river of it all

when joy is the only thing standing at the tip of the tongue,

and laughter is its sound.

We hold onto those moments,

carefully guarding them like a petty child,

yet knowing we need to share and release

but oh how it hurts holding on so very tightly

for fear replaces the joy with thoughts of it being lost,

as if it would slip away from our tiny grasp-

and in holding on we starve the emotion,

the joy starts to become small

so we let go just a bit

and feel it begin to grow once more

learning that this is how it truly must be,

to hand it off to a friend,

to send that smile and the sound of a laugh

like the tinkling of wind chimes as it drifts through the air,

landing softly in the waiting lap of all.

Yes, this is how it must be,

to live that moment in a simple joy of being,

to grow the light

and to carry it forward into the day and night.

11 thoughts on “Joy in being

  1. Thank you Robin, I see you’re getting a lot of reading done and it’s always so lovely when you stop in. there is always a simple joy in just being, and so many never give it much thought, I relish those times and am happy with the abundance of them that I am given. ❤

    Like

  2. Being in the moment and not allowing sadness to pull us under, this is how we need to live. I like the way you describe a way of living, giving smiles and friendly comments to others. 🙂 This was lovely, Kim.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks Derrick, I keep finding you in the SPAM can of Wp, don’t know why? Thank you…I’ve three comments from you to respond to. 💜As I sip my Cab Sauv….no make or model, cheap Super Bowl football swill😊☮

    Liked by 1 person

  4. a happy dog with a stick, priceless ❤ and the feeling when you can almost touch the joy in your soul, give it a name, call it your own, priceless ❤ thanks Eliza ❤

    Like

  5. I have watched that video twelve times today. When I am down or I just need a reminder of how beautiful life is, I watch that video or those of my nieces and nephews or I look at pictures of them all and just smile. It is grounding. It is centering. It renders much peace. Of late, I need that. You’re welcome. Thank you so much. ❤

    Liked by 2 people

  6. I wrote this right after our comments back and forth, you made me smile and brought such joy, I could feel it flood over me, that’s when i can write best, when I’m in the moment, realizing the moment for what it is and sharing. And your happy video, you are joy my friend and we share our joy with the world, it’s what WE do 🙂
    Thanks too, I’m so glad you liked it. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  7. “At your best.”

    This is your realm, Kim:

    “We hold onto those moments,

    carefully guarding them like a petty child,

    yet knowing we need to share and release

    but oh how it hurts holding on so very tightly

    for fear replaces the joy with thoughts of it being lost,

    as if it would slip away from our tiny grasp-

    and in holding on we starve the emotion,

    the joy starts to become small

    so we let go just a bit

    and feel it begin to grow once more”

    And I am always glad to read every word you put out here for us. I think you have given me cause to reflect and learn a bit more today. Thank you.

    Liked by 2 people

Your words are stars and I humbly thank you for shining your light for me....

