Like light

We weave our way into this season of light,

marigold days with sun gracefully settling

before we are ready

to let go the warmth of moments.

Cut-out thoughts like paper dolls dancing

upon dying leaves left underfoot,

the scent once broken spills into the mind

stirring remembrance like bread dough in a bowl,

rising higher with the warmth found.

Eyes closed against the glare of forward motion,

we turn round and spin in the element of this second,

27 minutes past the hour and falling behind

yet unaware, somewhere within

life’s clock that drives us hard

like demons close behind

chasing us into the chaos,

if we but stop and stand strong in thought,

our conviction is thus,

relishing this everything

as another minute passes

and 32 left before we roam.

With a light step I shall move

not pressed onward, but lost in this very second,

inhaling the scent as the day unfolds around me

and grey skies block the mighty bulb above,

switch turned off for now

but knowing someone will come along

and turn it back on once more.

I will cast my silhouette against the morning sky,

giving praise for all in my grasp

and blessings for each day that shall come

I dance in the universe unbound.

8 thoughts on “Like light

  1. I cannot get enough of this good stuff, Kim:

    “switch turned off for now

    but knowing someone will come along

    and turn it back on once more.

    I will cast my silhouette against the morning sky,

    giving praise for all in my grasp

    and blessings for each day that shall come

    I dance in the universe unbound”

    Beautifully done.

    Liked by 1 person

Your words are stars and I humbly thank you for shining your light for me....

