Cotton candy

Thoughts spun like the sweetest sugar

essence of cotton candy memories painted

skies and seas conform to need

learning as the days go by.

Form and function never cease

but to set it free in midnight dreams

of a universe that moves about me

carrying my thoughts like a child in arms.

I reach back in to plumb the depths

where treasure waits for sight and touch,

I move closer to the lovely prize

like a thousand birds that take to flight

this quiet night.

I lose myself in minutes long

and blend it all in for it to become

a piece of the whole dripping lightly

with point and flat I feel myself flowing,

diving deep to become one with it all.

There is no storm-tossed water,

just tranquil blue beneath the setting sun,

rocking gently to the lapping of the waves

bare feet keeping harmony

to the song of this heart.

21 thoughts on “Cotton candy

  1. Pingback: cotton candy – Welcome to the writings of T.R. Woodward

  2. I live in a bird sanctuary down here in Florida, I see it all of the time and it never ceases in taking my breath away each time ❤ and the hawks/ospreys…just waiting to see the eagles, quite prevalent down here but nesting right now….soon I’m sure ❤

    Like

  3. Not my art, but I begin watercolor classes in March, every Tuesday for 2 hours each. I have a list a mile long to buy before then but hope to make just as lovely creations to use with my words. I’m glad you enjoyed Sue, peace and love always, K ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  4. thank you as always, I saw the photo and just let the spirit move me to write-happy and gentle thoughts and a wonderful visit happening with friends. So much love inspires ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  5. A suitable title for the picture and the words. So much meat here, Kim:

    “but to set it free in midnight dreams

    of a universe that moves about me

    carrying my thoughts like a child in arms.

    I reach back in to plumb the depths

    where treasure waits for sight and touch,

    I move closer to the lovely prize

    like a thousand birds that take to flight

    this quiet night.

    I lose myself in minutes long

    and blend it all in for it to become

    a piece of the whole dripping lightly

    with point and flat I feel myself flowing,

    diving deep to become one with it all”

    It’s perfectly done.

    Liked by 1 person

Your words are stars and I humbly thank you for shining your light for me....

