With the flow

 

We ripple our thoughts on purpose,

watching them move up and down

coming together for but a moment

then watch as they slip away once more.

We wonder where they move to,

what lies in their depths we can no longer see,

feeling them brush by, leaving just a hint

of their former selves

then dissipating into nothing.

I dream in colors some days

as the rain falls beyond the glass

slippery pearls dripping down one by one

and I lie and watch the slow motion of the fan

circulating on its journey

moving the invisible air around

cooling my body with its quiet touch.

So many things to do,

a million words slipping here and there,

sometimes falling onto stone

permanent marker time cannot erase,

for I leave them behind

like stepping-stones for those to come

to wonder whose hand it was

that etched the primitive images

and what did they mean

back in the day

before their time began.

14 thoughts on “With the flow

  1. happy little trees rock my friend, a very cool comment, thanks so much and I’m glad you enjoyed. I’ll take that comparison, although my watercolor classes don’t start till March 🙂 happy soothing painting ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you Tre,
    Enjoying the uneven feeling of days, not pressing myself to write just to write and although it feels odd at times, I’m feeling peace and oh so good about each day✨😊💕 rainy day yesterday but good and so needed around here. Peace and love, Kim

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Appropriately titled and these lines are why:

    “and I lie and watch the slow motion of the fan

    circulating on its journey

    moving the invisible air around

    cooling my body with its quiet touch.

    So many things to do,

    a million words slipping here and there,

    sometimes falling onto stone

    permanent marker time cannot erase,

    for I leave them behind

    like stepping-stones for those to come”

    I enjoyed every moment of this, Kim and the lovely photo.

    Liked by 1 person

Your words are stars and I humbly thank you for shining your light for me....

