If not now….

If we wait….

time passes by like a phantom storm

cascading minutes we try to gather like crumbs,

if not now

then when,

do we wait saying it will be there,

when we’re ready

but not right now,

not this very second

the light within asks

again,

when?

Mind splatters its story on pages

one after another and the skies beyond grey

and dusk lights the night with the demise of day

and we look around to find

so much has passed

as we dove in so deep

drowning in the need to release,

to get it out there,

make it right and let it live,

unfolding like presents opened

we stop to breathe

wondering when we had given that much thought,

to take in air

and look around at the eyes that watch,

wondering if we can play,

if we can stop for a moment

and just be.

The fire within can consume in an instant,

the flicker smoldered

before catching on a draft,

running on adrenaline before it slips away,

we stack the pages neatly

written in the cloud

we smile pleased

at another speed bump passed over

slowing down to look for the next in the future,

we play hopscotch with our days,

looking for the end space

to make the win.

Began writing my book, not a poetry one as originally intended and finding I lose hours absorbed in the stories, the minutia, making timelines and creating a flow. A humbling experience that at times seems so overwhelming but I am thoroughly enjoying the new “creativity bug” that has bitten….now to just find more time to read, blog, paint, live, etc…..thanks for being patient with me my friends, working my way around to visit. Peace and blessings, K

Photo taken looking up through the ceiling of the butterfly conservatory in Key West a few years back.

23 thoughts on “If not now….

  1. Lyric is great! I wanted to go riding last night, but it rained. Hopefully, when it cools off today, I can take her out for a ride! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yes, ma’am! I am so far. I surely cannot complain. I feel like I am in need of a nap. I have already done my share of “too much” and I think my body is getting tired. LOL. Happy Saturday, Kim!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. it seems to have taken on this incredible life of its own, I feel like I’m on a roller coaster, constant changes in mind on how to have it turn out, went from small story to novel lately…but trying to write a thousand words each time I sit down….I’m my own worst editor though 🙂 haha….

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thanks Esme, I found a vintage cabinet card photo of a family? with 12? children in it. Have begun a murder mystery around it ❤ having lots of fun and I pray the real descendants never figure out the ghastly ways in which I kill them off in a love triangle. Ha….evil laugh here, as for being a poet of peace, I get a bit Stephen King at times in my head when it comes to cooking up stories ❤ I pray it comes out and that I don’t knock over the stack of sheets in the cloud somewhere, gotta plug in my back up device just in case ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  5. oooh, I love butterflies ❤ my tree is blooming that they flit about in, next to the bananas that the latest batch came crashing down, gotta go fetch them tomorrow as they’re leaning over the neighbors fence (our fence but on their side). work today for a short span, I love half days (4 hrs) and then off to dinner. Two days off to continue on with my story…. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  6. thanks JoAnna, I find I am a big procrastinator, mostly I think out of fear of failure but I’m jumping in with both feet and enjoying the ride ❤ peace and love and have an amazing day, K

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Your poem reminds me of things I put off in the past resulting in a missed opportunity. Sometimes we need to wait, but sometimes we need to dive in to those things that are most important. I relate strongly with the time zipping by and needing to find time for the things we love. Best wishes with your book!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Ouch! I’m right there with you! Thanks a zillion times over for the inspiration in this lovely poem. It flits and floats on butterfly wings…🦋

    Like

  9. “we stack the pages neatly

    written in the cloud” – I know this more than most. nods. Great wordage there and it’s also excellent news that you’ve settled on the book in the form you wish it to be. I always enjoy your work, I look forward to reading it. smiles

    Esme waving upon the Cloud

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I just can’t believe how much time flies by when I look up to finally take a break, hours have zipped past….big thanks to a loving hubby who lets me be in peace in the blue room to create my masterpiece ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Your words are stars and I humbly thank you for shining your light for me....

