In each moment

Cradled in my hand
box by tiny box opened gingerly,
reaching in to seek the gift
or memories rekindled.

I remember this one and that,
can close my eyes and see a younger me
standing in a row gazing,
choosing just the right one
and so very many years now gone
it always feels like yesterday
once each year.

Heart stirred thoughts on who I honored,
as I bought each one
and filled it with my special love
so that each one I saw
hanging on nimble green branches,
would return the feelings
of those who are no longer
except in thoughts and dreams,
and days that now grow shorter
leave me filled with a quiet peace
and gratitude for having had
so many gifts
in my life.

Magical seasons
and love is the reason
for joy and blessings
to shine through once more,
never forgotten
and always cherished
yet more this time of year
with each ornament that hangs
and says hello again old friend,
good to see you
if only for a while
then away I shall slip
into tiny boxes packed gently,
graced with hope
for goodness and greetings
next year.

Finally a day off to decorate the tree. Hallmark collectable ornaments from years and years ago, gifts from others and family heirlooms hung with care. A beautiful tree and all the lights worked (knock on wood) Peace and love and happy Hump day peeps ❤