Gifts given

I asked for the finding
feathers for a jar kept,
having been so very long since
I had touched the silken threads
of yesterday.
Colors that never lose their sheen
seen like gifts given
found unexpectedly like the moments,
how they rise up to thrill the soul
in their simplicity,
the gentle beauty twirling in fingers
wondering at the scenes seen
on wings flying to the very heights
while soaring lightly on winds,
gathering the knowledge of all below
moving about generically
without thought or care,
but those who stare into clouds blue banked
beyond the hues of light changing,
knowing there is always more
even when it seems so scarce,
we dip deeper into our journey
shifting the wings to change direction
and finding new paths,
different shadows and perhaps even more beauty
than even imagined.
I asked for a feather
and he sat silently waiting,
watching my approach.
His brown and white specked magnificence
left me with the simple awe-struck mood
as he turned to gaze at me
with knowing eyes,
returning to his silent stance
watching something beyond my view
and I tried to capture him
as the sun rose in a butter yellow splendor,
he hung tight to his post
waiting patiently as I moved about trying,
perhaps he knew
that the memory alone would suffice
of the moment caught
in the heart.

IMG_5625