Independence

With the smoke of many guns
Young men and women
Who proudly give up their life
To keep this country free,
To give us liberty.
The songs we sang as children
Hands over our hearts
Looking up at the flag,
Reciting heard from each room
Same time
Five days a week.
As kids we did not know
Just what it was all about,
A history lesson
Songs and flag days.
Independence is not free
I remember this
And my country tis of thee,
Sweet land of liberty
Of the I sing.
Bless this day and those who
Sacrificed,
Who never came home,
Brothers,husbands,son,daughters
I write these words proudly
That I can have a life so free,
And a country unlike others.
Happy Fourth of July.
Peace.

A story of kindness

This is a short tale of my day grocery shopping an hour ago and a bit about kindness.

I had my cart filled and I look for the shortest line, because who doesn’t when they see
Each aisle with a light on five people deep waiting?
I find a light where there are only two guys buying beer and limes(atta boy for that one boys) so I unload my reusable bags and load up the conveyor.
The young guy at checkout barely makes eye contact and asks if I found everything to which I replied, and then some, as I always do.
He starts packing my goods in the plastic and I remind him that to only use the plastic for the meats if he could, thinking he forgot my cotton ones that he had placed behind him.
He starts scanning again, one item at a time looking at each item as if it was a new and exciting item. Then turns around to put in my cloth bags. This went on for quite awhile and I turn around and the young girls behind me rolled their eyes and started tapping on the edge of the conveyor. The boy kept moving deliberately one item carefully placed and I told him he could just throw them in, it would be fine and he smiles and calmly tells me if I want it all to fit, the corn would need to be upright. Okay I said with a smile realizing at this point, being a holiday the store would have on those who wanted to work, no regulars were to be seen. He seemed a bit mentally challenged which is great, I applaud a store that hires and gives a chance to people of all makes and models. I was in no hurry and shot the girls behind me a dazzling smile and told them that he was he best bagger ever seen and they would not have to worry about him fumbling their purchases, and that there should be more at this store like him. At this point the young man started to blush and making eye contact told me that he was proud of the work he did and that it was nice for someone to finally acknowledge it and he thanked me. Kindness does go a long way to making someone’s day a bit brighter. I am sure on this holiday he would rather be at a parade or with his family having fun. Have patience, not everyone moves at the same speed as others and give compliments freely, it may just make someone’s day.

Sending happy

Colored orbs
Floating merrily
Strings tied to notes
Made with love
Thoughts and smiles
Sending happy
To the sky.
They bob along
Going here and there
Out of sight
I wonder where
The landing is
A child’s hand
Yes I suppose,
Or a lonely soul
Who looks up with a smile
To see the happy
Floating down
Into the hand
Of woman or man.
Spreading happy,
Yes we can
Set it free
Watch it soar
It will return
And bring some more
As kindness sent
Always comes back
With a hug and a smile
Sent with love.