What do you see

Open eyes peering
No words spoken
Looking up down around
What do you see?
Heartbreak?
Misery?
Lights and shades?
Black and white?
Prism eyes or rose colored glasses,
What do you perceive in a glance
In a thought
Rainbow reflects
Opaque sheen
Do you see laughter?
Do you see joy?
Do you crinkle the corners
When you smile?
Do you see the stars?
Do you see the magic?
Oh eyes in the mirror,
What is it you see,
Aching orbs, tired but open
Look at me
Tell me what you see
Oh window to the soul,
I sometimes wonder.

gnarled

Poor remnant
Old and without green
Cut for fire
No longer of use
Old has been replaced
By young new sapling.
Gnarled limbs
Like arms
Three fingers in a wave of
Peace or hello,
Other arm reached out
To hold itself up
I spare you to stand guard
Over the weed garden,
I have no gnome,
You have lost your home
So you shall bear watch
Waving off like naked scarecrow,
Those hounds that run amok
Scare them off with your gnarled self
And wave at me while I pass by.
I see you as female
Your tired bosom hanging low
Rounded outcropping
Below your limbs
Cracked and wrinkled
Aging like a fine piece
Of future firewood
For now a grandmother
Of the garden
Without a head of green
But I can picture you smiling
None the less.
Aging with imagination
Standing in strength with a little help
From the garden faeries.